Oh yeah! Me too!

Here is another post I wrote in September 2007.  I know it’s just about coincidences, but when you get this many, I think it makes it fun to hear.  So hope you enjoy it!

 

Coincidence . . .

 

 

. . . is just one of life’s little gifts.  It has no real purpose, except as fodder for conversation at family gatherings, cocktail parties – and on blogs!

Here is a little story about a group of coincidences that came together to make for a “what are the odds?” experience.

On my birthday I took doughnuts to the office, as customary, and then went around the office inviting my co-workers to have a birthday doughnut.

When I got to Don’s office, he said, “Oh, really.  Well, today is MY birthday too!”  We were exactly the same age. (So, where were his doughnuts?)

Our interest piqued by this coincidence, we continued to chat, and found out that, lo and behold, we had both been married on the exact same day, same year too.

As we chatted, he asked me where I was born.  When I said, “Springfield,” his mouth dropped open before I could even say the state.  We had both been born in Springfield — but Springfield’s in different states.

That evening I called Mama because I knew she would enjoy this story, and she reminded me of something I had forgotten.  When my name was picked (back in the “old days” when you didn’t know the sex of the baby beforehand, you picked a boy’s and girl’s name), the boy’s name that was chosen was Donald.  So, if I had been a boy, I would have been a Don too.

Next time I saw Don, I told him this one more coincidence, but I couldn’t resist embellishing on it just a wee bit, for humor’s sake.   I told him that Mama said she just couldn’t keep us both, so decided to only keep the cuteone.  Of course, she didn’t say that, but it did give us one last laugh in our series of coincidences.

He now calls me “Sis.”

4 Responses to Oh yeah! Me too!

  1. Linda says:

    I remember that, and it really WAS an odd series of coincidences. Great story!

  2. thesmittenimage says:

    Great story, Sandra. Gotta love those connections. It reminded me of a joke I heard a long while back:

    Two women were sitting next to each other at a bar. After a while, one looks at the other and says, ‘I can’t help but think, from listening to you, that you’re from Ireland .’

    The other woman responds proudly, ‘Yes, I sure am!’ The first one says, ‘So am I! And where about in Ireland are ya from?’

    The other woman answers, ‘I’m from Dublin , I am.’

    The first one responds, ‘So, am I!! And what street did you live on in Dublin ?’

    The other woman says, ‘A lovely little area. It was in the west end. I lived on Warbury Street in the old central part of town.’

    The first one says, ‘Faith, and it’s a small world. So did I! So did I! And what school did ya go to?’

    The other woman answers, ‘Well now, I went to Holy Heart of Mary, of course..’

    The first one gets really excited and says, ‘And so did I! Tell me, what year did you graduate?’The other woman answers, ‘Well, now, let’s see. I graduated in 1964.’

    The first woman exclaims, ‘The Good Lord must be smiling down upon us! I can hardly believe our good luck at winding up in the same pub tonight! Can you believe it? I graduated from Holy Heart of Mary in 1964 me self!’

    About this time, Michael walks into the bar, sits down, and orders a beer.

    Brian, the bartender, walks over to Michael shaking his head and mutters, ‘It’s going to be a long night tonight.’

    Michael asks, ‘Why do you say that, Brian?’ Brian answers, “The Murphy twins are drunk again!

  3. […] Here’s a cute story, by Sandra of Add Humor and Faith…mix well, about some astounding coincidences. […]

Leave a Reply

