Baked Beans For All Seasons!

I started to use a title for this post about how baked beans and summer go together, but when I really thought about it, baked beans really don’t have a season — they are good any time.

I thought that I had shared my favorite baked bean recipe before, but I went back through my recipe blogs and don’t see it.  So here it is.  My mother got this recipe from the back of a bottle of Open Pit BBQ sauce about 40 years ago, and it is still a family favorite.

I’m thinking about this recipe now because we are taking a big batch (4x the recipe) to a party today.

Open Pit Baked Beans

In a large pan saute four slices of bacon cut in pieces and 1/3 C. finely chopped onions.

When onion is tender, add:  2  1-lb. cans of pork and beans (I drain one to keep them from being too soupy.), 1/2 C. Open Pit BBQ sauce, 1/3 C. packed brown sugar and 1 T. mustard.

Bring to a boil and cook at least 15 minutes, stirring frequently.  Makes 4 1/2 C. — four to six servings.

One little note:  These tend (even when you drain some of the beans) to be soupy.  So I like to finish them off in a baking dish in the oven at 350 degrees long enough to “set” them a little bit.

Hope you like these as much as our family does!

6 Responses to Baked Beans For All Seasons!

  1. mary says:

    that sounds so good. I love baked beans when they have been cooked a long time, and they are really sweet like this…yummy!!! I will have to try it…thanks, Mary

  2. Sandra says:

    Hope you like them, Mary. They were definitely a hit at the party this afternoon. 🙂

  3. Linda says:

    I never doubted that they would be a hit at the party this afternoon. You’ve served them to me before, and they’re wonderful!

  4. Sandra says:

    Thanks, Linda. But not diet!! 🙂

  5. carlahoag says:

    They sound wonderful and I plan to try them.

    Believe it or not, I’d rather have beans than a steak. Much rather.

  6. Sandra says:

    I love baked beans too, Carla. Wish we lived close enough to share some!! Hi to Joe. 🙂

Leave a Reply

