Sometimes it’s fun to try something new …

… especially if you can eat your mistakes.

When we were at DD’s house before Christmas, I asked her what I could do to help get ready for the dinner she was preparing for company that evening.  She looked around and said, well you could finish that gingerbread house the girls lost interest in.  Obviously she had things pretty well under control and was searching for something for me to do.  I got that and I didn’t mind.

I had never had any experience with making a gingerbread house, but not knowing what I’m doing doesn’t necessarily keep me from doing something anyway, so I dug in.

Luckily I had brought a very large container of red and green juju’s that were each topped with a white cap.  We had used some to decorate cookies, but there were lots left.  And it’s a good thing, because much of the candy that had come with the gingerbread house kit was nowhere to be found.  Possibly the reason the previous contractors had lost interest?  They had eaten enough of their building materials that they realized they couldn’t finish, is my guess.

It took me a while, but I finished the house by just using frosting to glue pieces of candy in every available space.  That was a little trickier than it might seem because the pieces that were already in place weren’t always in straight lines and they were stuck fast, so I had to work around them.  But, even then, I was surprised at how much fun it was!

So I’ve decided that next year I’ll try making a gingerbread house from scratch.

You may want to tune in for that.  It may be a disaster, but I’ve certainly learned that sometimes the best stories come from disasters.

8 Responses to Sometimes it’s fun to try something new …

  1. Hilary says:

    Hansel and Gretel themselves would be proud to call it home. 😉

  2. Sandra says:

    Hilary — I don’t know about that. They might enjoy visiting, but my guess is that even children would realize that living in such a haphazard structure could be hazardous to your health, once the first cookie crumbled! 🙂

  3. Belinda says:

    Cute house Sandy…If you want a headstart on a gingerbread house, you may want to check out the Nordic Ware Gingerbread bundt pan that is on sale at Amazon.com…Actually I was thinking of buying it to make treats next Christmas…Maybe we could bake together! Have a great day.

  4. Sandra says:

    Belinda, doing that together sounds like a wonderful idea … EXCEPT, what would I write about if I did it with you, because I’m sure it wouldn’t be a disaster then!

    Really, I DO like that idea. Although, I’ve also been toying with the idea of doing a house covered in cookies instead. Let’s talk about it next Fall.

  5. Linda says:

    Looks like a very interesting project, and you did a most commendable job with it. Question, though: Do you always travel with a very large container of red and green jujus? What else is in that purse of yours?

  6. Dave says:

    Good on you Sandra. I like your attitude and thought that you did an admirable job! – Dave

  7. Sandra says:

    Linda — Now that I think about it, weren’t you the one who accused me of carrying a gun in my purse because it was so heavy? I see my purse “that can hold anything” as a theme with you. 🙂 The huge jar of juju’s that I picked up at Gordon’s was too big for even MY purse! When I saw them I immediately thought of the cookie decorating the girls and I were going to do. Unfortunately, they didn’t look very good on cookies and weren’t even very tasty to eat, so I was delighted when they worked for this project.

    Dave — Thank you very much! 🙂

  8. Dave says:

    Sandra, thanks for your comments on my “School Photo” blog at http://www.cimba7200.blogspot.com/search?updated-max=2011-12-19T22:18:00%2B13:00

    I have responded on the comments section on that site – Regards, Dave.

Leave a Reply

