Bullying

I’m back!  We’ve been out of town visiting family which was wonderful, and at the same time the trip supplied some fodder for future posts — a win/win!

But first, I read this on facebook this morning and just had to share it because it seems like such a great visual to use with kids to demonstrate why bullying is so bad:

“A teacher in New York was teaching her class about bullying and gave them the following exercise to perform.
“She had the children take out a piece of paper and told them to crumple it up, stomp on it and really mess it up but do not rip it. Then she had them unfold the paper, smooth it out and look at how scarred and dirty is was. She then told them to tell it they’re sorry. Now, even though they …said they were sorry and tried to fix the paper, she pointed out all the scars they left behind. And that those scars will never go away no matter how hard they tried to fix it. That is what happens when a child bully’s another child, they may say they’re sorry, but the scars are there forever.
“The looks on the faces of the children in the classroom told her the message hit home.”

7 Responses to Bullying

  1. carlahoag says:

    Sandra, someone on my friends list posted the same piece about bullying and I thought it was quite good.

    I hate bullying, in any group, anywhere and believe that NO ONE should tolerate it. Sitting by and saying nothing aligns one with the perp.

  2. Linda says:

    I hope the message really did hit home and that at least one potential bully will be pointed in a new direction.

    Glad you’re back. I’m anxious to hear about your trip.

  3. Hilary says:

    Like Linda said, if only one is stopped….

    Welcome back, Sandra.

  4. Josh says:

    Sandra! So glad you’re back! (I’ve been eager for your next posts).

    On another note … I’m.not.sure.. that’s the video you meant to include.

    At least in my case, it’s a 48 second advertisement on someone ripping through some cloth.

    Maybe I need to invest in a new internet browser….

  5. Sandra says:

    I agree, Carla. But I am glad that bullying is finally being addressed by schools. I know it went on when we were kids, but I think adults didn’t do much about it.

    Linda and Hilary — I hope so too. It seems like having it spelled out this way might just help potential bullies “get it”. That’s certainly my prayer. Thanks for acting like you missed me, friends. 🙂

    Hi, Josh — There wasn’t any video attached to this post, so I’m not sure what video you’re talking about. Maybe you DO need a new browser. 🙂

  6. Amy Ostrowski says:

    Welcome Back! I had a wonderful breakfast today with your DD. We decided we are going to intrude to the homestead next summer. LOL.

    My daughter is being bullied and this is a great teaching story. I have used a banana in Girl Scouts. I held a banana and had the girls give examples to me of bullying, with each bully statement I stuck the banana with a pin and took it out. By the time we were finished, I peeled the banana and it was bruised inside and icky. Same concept of your post.

  7. Sandra says:

    Hi, Amy. Would love it if you would make a pilgrimage to DD’s homeland (here!) next summer. 🙂

    I think your demonstration with a banana may be even better than the one I gave. As I said above, I’m so glad that people are finally talking about bullying. Just making people aware that it happens (frequently!) is a big step in the right direction.

Leave a Reply

