What a Crock(pot)!

In 1974 I started at the major truck manufacturer as a secretary.  That first Christmas, Bob my boss asked Hubby what he could get me for Christmas.  His question surprised Hubby (I’d never received a gift from a boss before, but it was common at my new company) and Hubby said the first thing that came to mind, “Well, she’s said she would like to have one of those new slow cookers.”

So, I got a kind of unusual gift from a boss that year:

But even if it wasn’t a typical gift from a boss, he couldn’t have given me one that I would enjoy more over the years. This slow cooker has been one of the most valuable tools in my kitchen and is still going strong.

A few years ago I did buy one of the new big, oval slow cookers, but this is still my faithful back-up.

When I was going to make a big batch of chili a couple days ago as well a the frankies I talked about in my last post, I served the chili in the new cooker and the frankies in this one.

Granted the brown plaid design on this cooker kind of dates it but, “Pretty is as pretty does,”  so this old girl is still pretty to me.

11 Responses to What a Crock(pot)!

  1. My first CrockPot (1975) was avocado green. I loved everything about it, except cleaning it.

    I so enjoy my new one, with the removable crock!

  2. Sandra says:

    I agree, June. But I don’t say it around this one because I don’t want to hurt its feelings. 🙂

  3. Hilary says:

    I never used a crock pot/slow cooker until about 3 years ago when I got a small one as a gift. It’s so handy and quite the creativity-tester. And the house smells wonderful when it’s been on for a while.

  4. Sandra says:

    Hilary — I can’t believe you resisted one for so long! But better late than never. 🙂

  5. C. Beth says:

    Brings back memories…I think my mom had a “THE CROCK WATCHER” when I was a kid!

  6. Sandra says:

    Beth — I hope hers has been as long-lived as mine. As you can see, the outside of it really still looks pretty good for its age, and the interior is still shiny and looks like new. Glad it brought back some memories for you. 🙂

  7. Linda says:

    I don’t cook a lot, as you know, but some of my best recipes are crock pot recipes. To this day, I’ve never made a meat loaf that wasn’t cooked in a crock pot. And I always use them for soup. Baked beans is another crock pot specialty of mine. I still have my first one, as well; but I’ve also invested in one of the newer oval ones with a lid that clamps on.

  8. Sandra says:

    Well, I HAVE owned one for a long time, but Linda you’ve always been way ahead of me in using one to actually cook meals — I mainly used it as a heated server. But I am finally collecting some recipes that we like cooked in one. In the garden of crock pot cooking, I’m a late bloomer. 🙂

  9. carlahoag says:

    Well, Sandra, I think you’ve kept it so long that it’s now trendy.

    70s things seem to be popular again.

    And actually, I think it looks snazzy.

  10. jimhabegger says:

    I like it too.

  11. hamilton beach slow cookers…

    […]What a Crock(pot)! « Add Humor and Faith….mix well[…]…

Leave a Reply

