Nana’s Banana Bread

I always have bananas on hand because I like them on my cereal in the morning.  And when DD’s girls come to visit, they like the sound of “eating bananas at Nana’s house”.

Well, once in a while some of the bananas get “past” and I need to use them in baking or throw them away.

So here is a recipe for roasted banana rum bread that I tried last week and we really like.  (No, it isn’t diet, but I did refrain from putting butter or cream cheese on it.  That counts for something, doesn’t it?)

Roasted Banana Rum Bread

Ingredients:

3 C. flour, sifted with baking soda and salt

2 t. baking soda

1 t . salt

14 T. butter, room temperature (1 3/4 sticks) (use the rest of the 2nd stick to grease the pans)

1 1/2 C. sugar

1 T. vanilla (yes, Tablespoon)

2 large eggs, room temperature

4 large ripe bananas

splash of rum (I think I used about 1/2 C.)

splash of maple syrup (ditto above)

1 C. plain yogurt (I used Greek yogurt because I had it on hand)

Instructions:

1.  Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Generously grease three 8 1/2 x 4 1/2 loaf pans and set aside.

2.  Place the unpeeled bananas on a baking sheet and roast them for about 10 minutes until their skins are blackened.  Remove them from the oven and turn it down to 350 degrees.  Peel and mash the bananas and set them aside.

3.  Sift the flour, baking soda and salt into a bowl and set aside.

4.  In a large bowl, beat the butter with a mixer until creamy.  Add the sugar gradually, mixing well until pale and fluffy.  Add the vanilla and the eggs, beating well after the addition of each egg.

5.  Mix in the cooled mashed bananas, rum and maple syrup.  Add half the flour mixture and mix well.  Stir in the yogurt before folding in the rest of the flour.

6.  Divide the batter evenly between the three  well-buttered pans.  Bake for 45 to 60 minutes, until a toothpick comes out with crumbs, not batter,  clinging.  Remove from the oven and cool for 10 minutes before turning out of pans.

We ate one loaf and froze the other two for future reference.  Next time I’m going to measure the rum and maple syrup that I put in because I’m not comfortable with “splash” as a measurement.  In fact, I was afraid that I had put too much in, but after tasting it, next time I would like to put a little more of each in.  And that would be so much easier if I knew exactly how much it was that I wanted to have “more than” of!

If you make this, I hope you enjoy it.  Happy Tuesday.

10 Responses to Nana’s Banana Bread

  1. Linda says:

    This does sound good. You amaze me, the way you keep trying new recipes. I have a few “tried and true” recipes and rarely venture beyond those. Of course, I’m not the cook that you are, either. 😉

  2. Sandra says:

    Wellll, Linda. Continuing to try new recipes keeps me humble, because of the ones that DON’T work out. I’d probably be wise to follow your lead and stick with the tried and true. And you do your tried and true so well!! 🙂

  3. Hilary says:

    This sounds yummy. I don’t bake.. because then I’d eat what I bake and that’s just not a good idea. A friend who likes to bake with banana just peels the overripe fruit and places them in a freezer bag and freezes them until she’s ready to use them. I’ve kept my own darker-than-I’d-like bananas that way for her, too.

    I love the way your rum makes a splash. 😉

  4. Sandra says:

    Hilary –Yesss, but if only I knew what a “splash” measures!!

  5. Vicki says:

    Wow, I have to try this–sounds so delicious –and roasted bananas? I would have never thought of that, but the addition of rum has to be so good!

  6. Sandra says:

    It was great, Vicki. Let me know if you make it. (as I said, I suggest you measure your “splash”. 🙂

  7. carlahoag says:

    What is it with grandmas and banana bread?

    The recipe I’ve always used is the one Joe’s grandmother gave me. It was possibly her mother’s recipe.

  8. Sandra says:

    Well, Carla, I’m glad you said “what is it with grandmas and banana bread”, not “what is it with grandmas and RUM”! 🙂

  9. Suldog says:

    Banana bread is a lovely thing, and a treat. I always hoped that a couple of bananas would go bad when I was younger. That was the only time that banana bread was made, when the bananas were no good for just regular eating. Loved it then, and the same now.

  10. Sandra says:

    Jim — Banana bread is one of those comfort foods from my childhood too. Well, now that I think about it, my mom (who hadn’t always HAD enough food as a child) made ALL food comfort. She loved us with food and was a great cook. Of course, it tasted wonderful, but it was/is a really hard habit to break later when you need to control your weight! 🙂

Leave a Reply

