Bye, Bye, Birdie

A few days ago, Hubby and I noticed this bird’s nest near our front door.

We could see three “babies” (but they looked pretty large.) in the nest, so we took several pictures, trying to get a good one.  That was harder than I would have thought.

So after we had taken a few (We didn’t go closer but stayed on the porch because it was easiest to see into the nest from farther away.), one of the birds surprised us by flying out of the nest.  Apparently it was leave-the-nest day and we just happened to be there to witness that momentous occasion.  Because just a short time later when I went to look at the nest again, they were all three gone.

This is the brave one who left the nest first.

Later when I opened the garage door to leave in the car, I noticed a weed beside this lilac bush next to the garage door. So I walked over to pull it.

After I pulled the weed and started to straighten up, I saw two little eyes looking at me from right inside the bush.  Can you see him?  He’s just about in the middle of the picture and toward the top.  He was sitting very still, and I feel sure that he was one of the first-day-out-of-the-nest guys who decided to sit very still inside that bush and just watch the world go by until he could decide what to do next.  When I returned an hour later, I looked for him again, but he was gone.

And when I went in the house, Hubby pointed out that one of the babies had been sitting on top of one of the chairs on the deck until just before I returned.  And he observed, “They must not be allowed to poop in the nest, because look at all that came out of that one little bird!”   I was sorry I didn’t get a picture of him, just his mess.

They are all gone now, and Hubby will now take down the nest, although I have every confidence that a new one will replace it next year.  And as soon as we wash the evidence off the deck, all signs of the “coming out party” we witnessed will be gone.  But it was fun to get to see.

5 Responses to Bye, Bye, Birdie

  1. Hilary says:

    Aww sweet. This goes back a couple of decades but for two years in a row, we had robins nesting on our outdoor light.

    Both times, the process was on a two week schedule. Two weeks from nest-building to egg-laying. Two weeks from egg-laying to egg-hatching. And two weeks from egg-hatching to wing-testing.

    And both years, the eggs hatched on Mother’s Day.

    They tried building again the third spring but it was a tremendously windy day, the nesting material blew off of the light and they never tried again.

    I think it’s possible that one of your little fledglings is sitting out in the rain over at Linda’s place. 😉

  2. Linda says:

    Yes, I did see the eyes peeking out of your very beautiful, by the way, lilac bush. Your little guy looks about the same size as the one we had on our patio (which Hilary suggested could actually be one of yours), so maybe our little bird was also a first-day-out-of-the-nest fledgling. Very nice post, taking us from nest to messing on the deck. 😉

  3. Sandra says:

    Hilary — That little timetable you observed is amazing, especially when it happened twice almost identically!

    I guess that could be one of our nest jumpers at Linda’s, but she lives quite a ways from us. He’d have had to get his “sea legs” really fast and then have made a bee-line for her house. 🙂

    Linda — Even without enlarging it? Sharp eyes, lady! If Hubby’s theory is correct they may go very quickly from constipation in the next to diarrhea on the deck!

  4. C. Beth says:

    I just find pictures like this SO charming. I’m glad you shared, and I hope if they do come back next year, you’ll share again!

  5. Sandra says:

    Thank you, Beth. It really makes it fun to share things like this when you get comments like that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

