Can Kidney Pie be far behind?

Is it just me or is there alot of talk right now about meat pies?

When we were at DD’s about a month ago, she made us a really delicious shepherd’s pie.  Who would have thought that a meat pie with parsnips as one of the ingredients could be so good?  But it was!  Because we liked DD’s so much, Hubby made a version of shepherd’s pie that we got off the internet (not quite as good as DD’s original) when Gunny and his teenagers were here a few weeks ago.  They loved it too.

Then I happened to turn on the TV about a week ago to see a chef named Sunny making what looked like a great chicken pot pie, so I went to her website and got that recipe.  I made it a few days ago and we really liked it.

And then, one of my favorite bloggers, Beth at C. Beth Blog posted a recipe for Irish Beef Pot Pie that also looked wonderful.  You can see her recipe here.

So, it just seems to me that pies that are meals are coming on strong right now, and I’m jumping on the band wagon!

Here is Sunny Anderson’s recipe that I used:

Easy Chicken Pot Pie

Ingredients:

1 1/2 lb. chicken tenders (about 10 tenders)

1/2 t. sweet paprika

1/2 t. dry sage

1/4 t. dried oregano

salt and freshly ground black pepper

3 T. olive oil

1 C. frozen pearl onions

1 C. frozen peas and diced carrots

2 cloves garlic, minced (I used 2 t. of minced garlic in a jar)

2 T. flour

2 C. low-sodium chicken stock

1 C. heavy cream (I am going to try using fat-free half and half next time)

1 store bought pie crust, unbaked and thawed if frozen

1 egg slightly beaten

Directions:

Use a 10″  cast iron skillet (I don’t have one so just used an oven-proof skillet I do have.)

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Sprinkle chicken with paprika, sage, oregano, salt and pepper.  Heat the skillet on the stove over medium high heat and add the olive oil.  Add the chicken and saute until cooked through, about 4 minutes on the first side and 3 minutes on the second side.  Remove the chicken with tongs to a plate, leaving the oil in the pan.  After the chicken has rested for a few minutes, chop it into 1/2″ cubes.

In the same pan add the onions, peas and carrots and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Stir and cook until the onions become tender, 3-5 minutes.  Add the garlic and cook about 1 minute longer.  Sprinkle in the flour and stir until it dissolves into the vegetables and juices.  Add the chicken stock and simmer until thickened.  Then stir in the heavy cream and add salt if needed.

Return the chicken to the pan.  Unfold the pie crust and place over the top of the filling, tucking the excess edges into the pan.  Brush the crust evenly with the egg wash.  Using a knife, gently cut 3 (*small) vents in the crust.

Place in the pre-heated 400 degree oven and bake until the crust is golden brown, about 20 minutes.

*The reason I specified small vents above is because I think I made my three vents too large and it allowed alot of the gravy to escape.  I don’t imagine it changed the flavor, but it would have looked alot nicer if the crust hadn’t looked like it was drowning in gravy.

I had never had shepherd’s pie until a month ago, and I’ve never had kidney pie either.  Well, I liked DD’s shepherd’s pie, but I’m not a fan of kidney’s in anything, so I’m not planning to try kidney pie any time soon.  But, never say never.  It could happen.   And, of course, if it does, I’ll be sure to tell you about it!

5 Responses to Can Kidney Pie be far behind?

  1. Linda says:

    The only “meat” pie I’ve ever had was chicken pot pie. Those are delicious, though…even the pre-prepared frozen variety. Your recipe looks good, and that salad in the background looks like the perfect accompaniment.

  2. C. Beth says:

    I love that it’s made in a cast iron skillet (which I do have!) I’m looking forward to trying this one.

    And as for your comment on mine–absolutely, I think the veggies you used in this one would be delicious in my recipe too.

  3. Sandra says:

    Linda — We’ll have to make the shepherd’s pie sometime for you. We really like it too. Yes, the salad was perfect with it. Nothing more was needed.

    Beth — Hope you like it. I probably will use the rest of the pearl onions and peas and carrot combo that were leftover from this recipe when I make yours.

  4. Vicki says:

    I love meat pies–they are true comfort food! I’m definitely going to try this chicken pot pie–it sounds wonderful! Did your daughter’s shepherd’s pie have ground meat or steak? It’s been so long since I’ve made one! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Sandra says:

    Hi, Vicki! Well, Hubby just told me something I didn’t remember — DD said that since her girls didn’t like the lamb in the first one she made, it was no longer “shepherd’s pie” when she made it the second time with just ground beef and pork. That version is called cottage pie. But it still tasted pretty authentic when we had it. They used to have an Irish restaurant close to them and she had taken note of what their menu said was in their pie. So she went online and found a recipe that seemed similar to theirs and adjusted it to come up with her own recipe. And I loved the horseradish sauce she served to put on top of it.

Leave a Reply

