Best Advice of the Week: Bathroom Graffiti our way

When we worked, I carried a small Franklin planner that was my go-to place for all things going on in life, both work and personal.  It was always either on my desk at work or in my purse, and I referred to it many times a day.  And Hubby had an electronic hand-held planner where he (and his admin) put everything important for him to remember and that his ad min synced once a day with his work computer as well as hers.  So that was his go-to spot for all things to be remembered.

And then we retired.

When we retired, it became much more important to keep a master calendar here at home.  But, then we had to remember to look at it every day.  A bigger challenge when in retirement, because there wasn’t nearly the daily routine that there had been during our working days.

So, I started putting post-it notes on the mirror in our bathroom when there was something we needed to remember.  Most of the time, these were reminders of things that were already written on the calendar that we kept, but seeing it on the mirror was a much more sure reminder.

But then something I saw on television, and my memory fails me here so I don’t remember what it was I saw that inspired this idea.  Anyway, I thought of the grease pens that are used on white boards and wondered how they would work on the mirror!

They worked.  And now any messages we need to leave for each other or any reminders we need to leave ourselves, are left on the mirror.

The notes are often incomplete — just enough to remind.  This tells me, on Friday I have golf at Shoaff Park at 10 am and we’re going to dinner and a movie with Doug and Linda about 4 pm.

This picture shows both what kind of works and what works better.  On the tub deck beside the plant is the calendar we write everything on.  But, when we realllly need to remember something, even if it is written on that calendar, we write it on the mirror “just to make sure”.

I put the markers and eraser in a container on the counter to keep them handy.

9 Responses to Best Advice of the Week: Bathroom Graffiti our way

  1. Angela says:

    Great Tip Mrs. H. I use mine with the same idea, just a little twist. I keep my prayer list there. It is there to remind me several times a day those that need my prayers. It is humbling, as you prepare for your day, to realize that some people have a lot more on their mind than worrying how their hair looks. Have a great Saturday!!

  2. Sandra says:

    What a great idea, Angie! Thanks for giving me another way I can use it! 🙂

  3. Linda says:

    What a great way to make sure that neither of you forgets something important. We’ve missed those movie dates in the last several months, first while Doug’s been sick and, since then, just trying to find a schedule that works for both of us. Hopefully, we can do dinner or a movie (or both) again soon. I love Angie’s idea, too, and her thought about the reminder it gives her each day.

  4. Sandra says:

    I agree, Linda. It would be fun to do some of that again. And I do like Angie’s idea. 🙂

  5. Hilary says:

    Clever you. I’m sure that every now and then there’s a wee love note waiting for one of you, also. 😉

  6. Dee from Tennessee says:

    I do the prayer list on the bathroom mirror too…esp. the ones that I consider the most “urgent” ones of which there are several right now. Thankful He is faithful.

  7. Sandra says:

    Hilary — Hmmm. Love notes? More likely funny notes with us. Like, “Better fire the laundress. I’m out of white socks.” 🙂

    Dee — That is a wonderful idea. It hadn’t occurred to me to use this that way. But I will now!

  8. Vicki says:

    How clever!!! Great idea!

  9. Sandra says:

    Thanks, Vicki. It works very well for us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

