More Stained Glass

This is my personal favorite.


That’s all the photos I have and this is just a small taste of the stained glass in the exhibit.  If you ever get a chance to go to the gallery of stained glass at Navy Pier yourself, I suggest you do it.  Photos can’t possibly do this wonderful art justice.

I tip my hat to the artists over several centuries who created this art … to those who protected and preserved each of the pieces … and finally to those who brought this particular collection together under one roof and allow the public to enjoy it free!

6 Responses to More Stained Glass

  1. Susan says:

    Sandi, these are lovely and certainly peaked my interest in going to Chicago for a visit. I’ve often attended conferences at McCormick Place but never taken the time to go to Navy Pier even when staying downtown. That will change now!

  2. retiredandlovingit says:

    These are so beautiful. I don’t know how I would pick a favorite. These posts are likely to generate more business for Navy Pier. 🙂

  3. Linda says:

    Okay. I’m “retiredandlovingit” but I didn’t mean to be. I signed onto WordPress and created a blog there in order to try to figure out how to help you with your spacing problem. But I couldn’t figure it out, so I deleted the blog I had just created. I didn’t notice until I posted my comment that it had me logged in under that name. Are you confused? I know I am. 😉

  4. Hilary says:

    They are lovely.. so colourful. And your personal favourite was mine as well.

    Who IS this retireandlovingit person, anyway? I’m so confused! 😉

  5. Vicki says:

    These works of art are just amazing! I remember when I was a senior in high school, our art class toured several churches, the Greek Orthodox with their beautiful art and the most glorious chandelier I’ve ever seen–thrones too, but no stained glass there. We also toured a beautiful Episcopal church to see the stained glass and beautiful woodwork, and the Jewish Temple which also had many truly awesome stained glass windows. I’ve had a fascination with stained glass ever since.
    Hope I get to visit Chicago and see these lovely windows someday!

  6. Sandra says:

    Susan — As a talented quilter, I bet stained glass is of particular interest to you! Even with my untrained eye, I can picture that one I said is my favorite as a spectacular quilted wall hanging.

    Dear “retiredandlovingit”, it would be great if it DID generate more business for Navy Pier because of my post. It really is worth seeing.

    Linda — your “retiredandlovingit” makes me laugh on so many levels! Mainly because it fits right in with the exchange Hilary and I had on the post with spacing issues. But also because, even though I’ve always disliked the saying before, I can’t help but think of it now, “No good deed goes unpunished.” You just try to help a friend figure out her blog, and you end up making an issue for yourself. 😦 Thanks for being willing to take that chance just so you might be able to help me, friend. 🙂

    Hilary — I’m glad you liked them.

    btw, just think how much fun you would have if you lived closer to Linda and me. You could be right here in the thick of all this craziness we get into just trying to write our blogs. Confused is a big part of our lives, and I’m confident we could make you that way too! 🙂

    Vicki — If you and C make that road trip to Indiana I’ve been suggesting, we could go up there for a day. And, of course, it’s a three hour drive, so we would have to stay overnight and do a little shopping on Michigan Avenue too. Sounds like a plan to me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

