I phone, you phone, we all phone after getting a loan!

Reality check!  I just bought a new phone.  Cell phones have just gotten more and more expensive.  Unfortunately, you can’t hardly get “just a phone” any more.  And, truthfully, after my friend and neighbor, Belinda, showed me all the apps that she had on her i-phone a couple weeks ago, it kind of got me excited about having some of those abilities too.

So, I bit the bullet recently and bought a Droid.  As with most technology, I am only using a small percentage of the things the phone is capable of doing, but I am happy with it.

I like talking on a larger flat phone instead of the very small flip phone I had previously.

I am thrilled that I can now text mail — mainly because I can speak my text instead of having to type it on the very small key pad.  On the downside, I was contacted by my carrier a few days ago and was told that I had done enough texts in the couple weeks I’ve had the phone that I should buy a plan so that I wouldn’t have to pay 20 cents for every text.  So, I now have a five-dollar -a-month plan that will allow me to send 250 texts.  I just hope that’s enough. (Have I ever mentioned I have an addictive personality?)

I found an app called Memory Trainer.  I am enjoying “flexing” my memory “muscles” with it regularly.  And my success with these mental tests has convinced me that I am probably not early Alzheimer’s as I had begun to suspect.  That alone, is probably worth the cost of the phone!

And finally, the most valuable thing my new phone may be doing for me is preparing me for my next profession.  There is a game app called Bistro Cook.  On it you are a short-order cook filling orders which gradually increase in complexity as the orders also arrive at  an ever-increasing speed.

Did you ever see the I Love Lucy episode in which Lucy and Ethel had jobs in a candy factory and the assembly line they were working on kept going faster and faster?  Okay, then you’ve got a good idea of what this game is like.  But, unfortunately, I don’t have Ethel … or the cute hat.

Is that your cell phone I hear ringing?  You should go answer it … it’s probably a text from me.

13 Responses to I phone, you phone, we all phone after getting a loan!

  1. Debbie says:

    Oh, Sandra! You got one of the BIG ones! I still have the flip open one and my kids had to help me learn to use it. Now I have a car with blue tooth and when I am driving said car and my cell phone rings, my car answers and their voice comes through the speaker system. I’ll be sitting at a light talking and laughing, drinking my Starbucks, and glance over to see the people in the next car who think I’m one of those people who talk to myself. It is convenient, but the lady in my dash who does the talking is kind of mean and I don’t like her. 😀

  2. Sandra says:

    Debbie — Your comment made me laugh because I have blue tooth in my car too, and have had the same experience with looking like a crazy old lady who talks to herself! 🙂

  3. C. Beth says:

    I am allowed to upgrade in a month and I am SO excited to get a really great phone!

  4. Sandra says:

    Beth — Are you so excited because I told you about Bistro Cook? I thought so. 🙂

  5. Gunny says:

    I would remind you that I bought your first bag phone and it cost $200. It seems incredible now that a phone as difficult to use as a bag phone could cost so much in 1992. When you consider the capabilities of your new phone, it looks like a bargain.

  6. Sandra says:

    Gunny — I’m glad to know exactly when I got my first portable phone. I remember how excited I was when you gave it to me. But I’m pretty sure I didn’t know how much it cost! We’ve come a long way in 19 years in phones haven’t we. 🙂

  7. Linda says:

    I don’t know whether I’ll ever graduate to one of these. I have just a simple phone. Can’t even take pictures. And please don’t text me…I don’t know how to answer. 🙂

  8. Sandra says:

    LOL, Linda! You don’t have to worry about me texting you because I only have DD and Gunny’s number in the memory and I don’t know how to add more! 🙂

  9. Margaret says:

    How exciting, I just got a Blackberry about a year ago and LOVE IT! But I am so looking forward to getting an iPhone or Droid on my next renewal… Glad you’re having fun with it, but I reckon you’ll be snapping pix and posting to your blog right from you phone in no time. Enjoy!

  10. Sandra says:

    Margaret — Thanks for your confidence in me. Unfortunately, I’m not sure I will be live up to your expectations. But I AM really enjoying it. 🙂

  11. Linda Bewley says:

    I too recently got a Droid, Sandra. I’m still learning as it does things very differently from my previous phone. I actually liked the smaller phone for talking–but not for texting! I still feel like I have fat fingers when I text as I make lots of spelling errors! And the Swype thing really freaks me out-do you use that?

    I must try your Bistro Cook app. Sounds like fun. Will I be Lucy or Ethel? Hmm…..

  12. Sandra says:

    Hi, Linda! So we both have Droids? Yea!! Be sure to try texting by voice so that you don’t have to worry about that “fat fingers” feeling. No, I don’t Skype, but I hear that that technology has gotten really good.

    It makes me laugh to picture you and I doing the Lucy and Ethel thing with the assembly line. What fun those shows were.

    See you in a couple weeks at book club. btw, Marilyn says since we are discussing Girl with the Pearl Earring, we should all wear black and pearls. Then I’ll take pictures. 🙂

  13. Linda Bewley says:

    Sounds like a plan:) I’ve got my black and my pearls………

Leave a Reply

