Priceless Time

When I posted this picture a few days ago, I noticed something.

See the clock, partially hidden by things stacked in front of it, on the buffet by the kitchen door?

I now have that clock.

I remember Mama telling me that this clock was a wedding present.  I wonder who gave it to them? If you’ve read the story of my parent’s lunch-time marriage here, you know that there was no formal church wedding and almost certainly no wedding reception where gifts were given.  So, I would guess this was one of the few wedding presents they received.

I’m honored that the wedding clock now lives with us.  It still keeps excellent time while at the same time evoking memories that are priceless.

7 Responses to Priceless Time

  1. Debbie says:

    Sandra, that is a beautiful mantle clock. I’ve seen some very nice ones in antique shops with some nice price tags attached, but it wouldn’t be the same as having one that had special significance to your family. My parents divorced early in my life and I haven’t anything from the two of them including pictures because my mother destroyed every trace of him in her life. Most of all, forgive me, but I envy your good memories of your parents and I’m glad you have some physical reminders as well 😀

  2. Sandra says:

    Debbie — I’m so sorry you don’t have your own memories of happy parents from childhood. But, I’m sure, you have some other memories that I would envy if I heard them. (Did you have a pony? I always wished for one of those, no matter how impractical it was for a kid who lived in town.)

    We met our daughter (who lives in Chicago) in Merrillville for lunch last week and I later thought of you and wondered if you live close to there? It would be fun to get together for lunch sometime. 🙂

  3. Hilary says:

    That’s so cool. I also see some of the pieces which I now possess in old photos and home movies. I have items of furniture that I can’t ever remember not “knowing.” It’s quite comforting, isn’t it?

  4. C. Beth says:

    That is wonderful. I’m assuming you have to wind the clock?

  5. Sandra says:

    Hilary — Yes it is comforting. I like feeling that connection to the past and my parents.

    Beth — Actually I think it started out electric! That’s because it says Sessions Electric on its face and there isn’t a place for a key to wind it up. It’s been so long ago we had it converted that we can’t remember seeing the plug and cord, but it probably had one.

  6. Linda says:

    How neat that you have photos showing this clock in your previous life and the clock itself in your current life. It is beautiful and a treasure, to boot.

    I tried to find some more information on the clock for you, but I didn’t find anything that I thought would be helpful. In looking at some images of Sessions Mantle Clocks, though, I found some with that little curve mark under the 6. On your clock, it appears to be through the six. That seems curious. But interesting. 🙂

  7. Sandra says:

    That is interesting, Linda. Maybe ours is one of a kind and worth a million dollars! 🙂

Leave a Reply

