Provisions Paranoia … A Blizzard’s Coming!

We are supposed to be in the path of the big blizzard that is predicted to move across the country today and Wednesday.

I first heard about it on Saturday in an e-mail from a friend who has connections to the National Weather Service.  So, I went to the grocery to get some blizzard food that afternoon.  Business at the grocery was pretty normal; I guess most people hadn’t heard about the storm yet.  I admit I felt slightly superior that I had prepared before the milk-and-bread-before-the-storm masses descended.

Well, best laid plans (and pride cometh before the fall!) …  Yesterday afternoon as I heard more and more about the storm that was coming, I thought of just a couple more things that we really ought to have.  I guess my memories of being low on staples during the Blizzard of ’78  may have lead to a little bit of provision paranoia.  So, I made just one more quick trip to the grocery.

Holy cow!  It was packed!   But the upside of shopping shoulder-to-shoulder in a crowded grocery is that I ran into a couple of people I knew.  (“And actually it was a very courteous crowd, so not at all unpleasant.”, said the retiree who admittedly doesn’t have all the pressures that most of the shoppers probably have.)

First I ran into a young father from our church who has four teens at his house, including three boys.  I immediately noticed that compared to the overflowing carts all around us, Kevin was just carrying a loaf of bread and some lunch meat.  I couldn’t resist teasing him saying that knowing the size of his family I didn’t think he was buying quite enough.  He fell right in with the joke.  He said he decided it was time to toughen those guys up.  A couple days of bread and water would do alot of good for their toughness.  Kevin is always fun to talk to.  And I’m guessing his wife had already stocked their cupboards earlier.

Then I ran into my friend Marilyn in the produce section.  She was hurrying to finish her shopping and said she was so glad to see me because she was in a hurry and was picking up the ingredients for the salad I had posted last week, so where the heck was the broccoli slaw?  I pointed out the rainbow slaw that I had used because an employee had told me that is what the broccoli slaw they sell is called.  It’s always nice to feel needed.  Hope you got everything you need for the salad, Marilyn!

Okay.  I didn’t manage to avoid the last minute, hurried grocery shopping after all.  But actually my last minute trip was kind of fun.  That’s one of the advantages of retirement … having time to stop to smell the roses, or in this case, actually see the fun in a before-the-storm trip to the crowded grocery store.

For everyone else in the path of the storm, I hope you’re able to do as we will do … stay in, stay warm, stay safe and stay fed!

14 Responses to Provisions Paranoia … A Blizzard’s Coming!

  1. Linda says:

    Hi, Sandy. Hope you and Hubby are safely settled in to wait this thing out. I had gone to the grocery on Sunday, and it was very busy then. Then, like you, I thought of more “necessities” yesterday. But I was able to get in and out of the store early enough to avoid the main rush.

    Those pre-storm shopping crowds can be a hassle, but there’s also a camaraderie that can make them fun. I remember one year, when there were long lines at the checkout, the customers were helping one another in the do-it-yourself lines. As the first person in the line was scanning his items, the next person in line would bag those items for him. Then the process was repeated when the “bagger” became the “checker.” Things went much more quickly that way and with the cheerfulness of sharing in a crisis.

  2. Debbie says:

    I’ve been trying to decide if I have enough to keep us fed for the next few days or if there is anything I need badly enough to wade through the other manic shoppers:D We are out of delicious ice cream, but in a blizzard it wouldn’t be my first food choice! I’m ready to watch the world from my front picture window and measure the snow! Stay warm…
    Deb

  3. Sandra says:

    Linda — I LOVE your story about the DIY check-out. That is one of those times you will always remember once you witness it. This doesn’t mean you’re going to miss WW does it!!?? I mean, come on, you have to have your priorities. 🙂

    Debbie — I’m really surprised that you didn’t stock up on your favorite ice cream. What’s the fun of being snowed in if you can’t enjoy your favorite foods. Are you going to be one of those people who actually LOSES weight during a blizzard? Good for you! 🙂

  4. Linda says:

    Sandra – Sorry…I did skip WW this morning. I’ll miss next week, too, because of Doug’s surgery. I wish I could say I’d be five pounds lighter when I come back, but I’ll be lucky if I haven’t gained. 😦

  5. C. Beth says:

    Brrr! As I groan about our weather (low 30s, windchill a lot lower) I’ll try to keep it in perspective–at least we aren’t snowed in!

  6. Tim King says:

    Yeah, I was thinking of the pre-storm shopping myself. But I think we’re stocked enough to wait out the snow. Up here in New England, we’re getting hit twice in a row, up to 3 feet of snow over the next two days in places. (We live sorta in the middle of everything, so probably 2 feet for us.) Followed by sub-freezing temperatures.

    Even up here, we’re not used to so much snow in one season. I’m officially tired of winter. It’s almost Groundhog Day. Can’t ol’ Phil gimme a break? 🙂

    -TimK

  7. Hilary says:

    My son and I did the grocery store trek yesterday afternoon and I couldn’t believe the crowd. We waited about a half hour in line. But it wasn’t unpleasant and the cashier was a sweet, cheerful girl who made the best of a stressful shift.

    I hope you and yours keep toasty warm and snug.

  8. Cheryl says:

    Sorry I missed you in the fresh fish section!!!!
    🙂

  9. Sandra says:

    Sorry you missed it too, Linda. The meeting was well done, as usual. But LUNCH was great! 🙂

    Well, Beth, we aren’t snowed in YET either, but it has just started snowing again in ernest, so we’ll see what happens. We are very fortunate to be in a position where we don’t have to leave the house any time soon.

    Tim — I normally love snow, but even I have had enough this winter. Come on Spring!

    Hilary — Your sweet, cheerful clerk could have just as easily been curt and surly I’m sure. When it’s so busy I can’t imagine how hard it is on the clerks. God bless her for adding a little bright spot to the lives of those she was checking out.

    I hope the next few days will be comfy and peaceful for you and yours, friend.

    Cheryl — Oh, so you were one of the many who were there? If that had occurred to me, I would have definitely checked in your favorite section to see if you were there. Stay warm, lover of all things fishy. 🙂

  10. carlahoag says:

    Our blizzard last minute preparedness was dish soap,cat food and litter.

    Oh, yes. And Cokes, Milk Duds and Smarties.

    Guess I’ll be on a vegetable soup diet the rest of the week to compensate.

    Hope you’re safe and warm.

  11. Sandra says:

    Carla — Very smart. As someone else said, “You don’t want to be snowed in with hungry cats! (Or without littler, I’m sure!)

    So far, we’re doing great. Just hunkering down. One of the advantages of being retired.

    Wishing you safe and warm too. 🙂

  12. Tim King says:

    Ugh. Cat food! That’s what I forgot. Poor Tessie-cat. We’ll find her something to eat.

  13. Amy Ostrowski says:

    It was an amazing storm! I hope you are well.

  14. Sandra says:

    Amy — Amazing is a good word for it. It really is beautiful isn’t it, even though inconvenient. We are well, thank you. Wishing the same for you and your family. 🙂

Leave a Reply

