Easy Ready-To-Put-In-Any-Recipe Chicken

You know when you make a dish like the one I just posted and you don’t have chicken on hand to use?  Here is a quick and easy way to make chicken for just such an instance.  I found it on allrecipes.com a couple years ago and had kind of forgotten about it because I hadn’t used it in a while.  And hadn’t used it in a while because I had forgotten about it!  Sigh.

Easy Butter Chicken

*** First, pre-heat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C) ***

Ingredients:

4 boneless skinless chicken breast halves

1 T. fresh lemon juice

1 t. dried tarragon (I don’t keep this on hand.  I suggest you just use whatever seasoning you think would go with the dish you are going to use the chicken in.  This time I used lemon herb seasoning)

salt and pepper to taste

1/4 C (half stick) butter

Directions:

Drizzle the chicken with the lemon juice and sprinkle with the seasonings.  Set aside.

Place an ovenproof skillet (which also has an ovenproof lid) over medium heat and melt the butter.

Place the chicken in the skillet, turning to coat both sides.

Cover the chicken with a sheet of parchment paper and then with the lid.

Bake in the preheated oven for 10 to 15 minutes, until the chicken is cooked through.

When I made some of this yesterday I thought, why did I even bother using the rotisserie and canned chicken the first two times I made this salad?  I should have whipped up some of this chicken from the start.

5 Responses to Easy Ready-To-Put-In-Any-Recipe Chicken

  1. Hilary says:

    Sandra, I love tarragon! And combined with lemon or white wine, it’s just wonderful. It’s prefect with chicken. It sounds pretty yummy to me and yes, it would be perfect with your previously posted salad.

  2. Sandra says:

    Well the, Hilary, maybe you should substitute white wine for the lemon too. What do you think? That’s what I love about this — it’s so easy to tailor to whatever you need chicken for.

  3. This would be the perfect main dish to make after a day at work! It’s quick, easy, and sounds positively yummy! While the chicken is cooking, I could load up my rice cooker and steam some veggies – dinner would be on the table sooner than The Boy’s request for pizza takeout!

  4. Sandra says:

    June — It really is easy. Hope The Boy likes it! 🙂

  5. […] other recipe I make that calls for baking in a skillet in the oven is Easy Butter Chicken.  And, as you can see, I used this idea then too.  (FYI, that’s Lemon Pepper seasoning I […]

Leave a Reply

