Crunchy Poppyseed Chicken Salad

The following is a recipe a friend found at kraftfoods.com.  After she raved about it, Hubby and I tried it and really like it.

First I’ll give you the recipe exactly as it was given.  Then at the end I’ll tell you the modifications I had to/wanted to make.

Crunchy Poppyseed Chicken Salad

4 C. broccoli slaw

2 large red peppers, thinly sliced (about 2 C.)

4 medium carrots, shredded (about 2 C.)

1 can (8 oz.) pineapple tidbits, drained

1 pkg. (6 oz.) Louis Rich Oven Roasted Chicken Breast Cuts

1/2 C. Kraft Special Collection Creamy Poppyseed Dressing

1/4 C. Planters Cashews

Combine all ingredients except dressing and cashews in large bowl.

Add dressing; toss to coat.

Sprinkle with cashews.

Makes 4 servings

Kraft’s Note:  You can find broccoli slaw in the produce section next to other coleslaw  blends.  This salad is also great with Planters Almonds instead of the cashews.

Okay.  Now here’s the reality of how this recipe actually worked out when I made it.  You really don’t need to read the rest of this unless or until you are going to make this.  Then this information might help.

~ I used a 12 oz. bag of broccoli slaw.  That was after the produce worker at the grocery talked me into buying two bags because, after all, 12 oz. means 1 1/2 cups, right?  Well even though I was pretty sure that equation didn’t work in this instance, I let her talk me into buying two bags (maybe she’s on commission).  But at home when I could actually measure it, one bag was approximately the 4 C. needed.

~ I used only a half of one red bell pepper because Hubby isn’t crazy about bell peppers.  But the red bell pepper gives the salad a great extra flavor, so next time I make it, I’m going to at least use one whole pepper.

~ We aren’t huge carrot fans and the broccoli slaw has a few carrots in it, so I didn’t add the carrots. (I felt comfortable doing this because the friend who loved the recipe, hadn’t added the carrots either.)  But I’m sure they add nutrition, bulk and fiber, so I have now bought a bag of shredded carrots and I am going to add some next time.

~ I couldn’t find the specific packaged chicken breast suggested.  So the first time I made this I bought one of the rotisserie chickens the grocery cooks themselves the day before I was going to use it.  (I needed to refrigerate it, because I certainly didn’t want to use hot chicken in it.)  That worked all right, but I inadvertently mixed in some darker meat, and I just don’t like the stronger taste of dark poultry meat.  So the next time I used canned chicken.  It was okay, but sort of disappeared because when the salad was stirred, that chicken would crumble into smaller and smaller pieces.  The next time I make it, I’m going to cook some chicken just for the purpose of making this salad.

~ I couldn’t find the special dressing listed in the ingredients, so just used regular Kraft poppyseed dressing.

~ The cashews are very good in it, but nuts have alot of calories, so after the first time, I enjoyed the salad just as much, but without the nuts.

Other than that, I made this dish exactly as listed.

10 Responses to Crunchy Poppyseed Chicken Salad

  1. C. Beth says:

    “Other than that, I made this dish exactly as listed.”

    Ha ha–love your humor!

    The produce lady needs to learn the difference between FLUID OUNCES and OUNCES (the weight type)!

  2. Hilary says:

    C. Beth could have written my comment for me.. in fact, she did.

    Recipes are meant to be modified and played with.. this one sounds yummy.

  3. Linda says:

    As I read your post, I was eating the last of a batch of this salad that I had made a few days ago. I do use both red peppers in mine, and I use half of a 10-ounce bag of matchstick carrots. I couldn’t find the right chicken, either, and was too lazy to cook some; but I found some packaged sliced chicken breast that I liked in it. And it makes way more than four servings. I figure about 10. But I suppose it depends on the size of the servings. 🙂

  4. Sandra says:

    Well, Beth, I can’t be too critical of the produce lady because I have trouble remembering that concept too! It turned out okay because having the extra bag of slaw made it easy to make another batch just a couple days later. Hubby says I’m going to burn myself (and him!) out on it, but I reallllly do like it.

    Hilary — Obviously I agree on that modification thing. And, yes, it really is yummy. 🙂

    Linda — And doesn’t it keep great? There are so many salads that just don’t lend themselves to leftovers. But I thought this was really good right down to the bottom of the bowl two days after it was originally made.

    I just made some chicken for another dish and have enough extra that I can use those extras for another batch of this! 🙂

  5. Vicki says:

    I can’t wait to try this recipe–I just know I’ll love it! I may use half the nuts–I do like them and think they are quite healthy in moderation. Thanks for sharing!
    V

  6. Sandra says:

    Vicki — Hope you like it! I didn’t check, but i thought pecans would be good in it too, and I think they are lower in calories. 🙂

  7. carlahoag says:

    This looks wonderful. However, I think I’ll adapt it a bit since I don’t care for chicken (hard to believe, but true). Maybe I’ll use chunk white tuna.

  8. Sandra says:

    Or, Carla, you could just leave out the chicken. I’m supposed to take a salad to a “do” Sunday evening to go with roast beef sandwiches so that’s what I’m going to do. It really does have a great flavor that I don’t think will be hurt at all by the omission of meat.

  9. Ann says:

    A friend served this salad to our bridge club and we all loved it. I was too lazy to type it into my computer so I did a search and was so tickled to come across this site. Love the humor of all you gals. By the way, I think my friend made it exactly as the recipe reads. Now I wonder if she found the chicken called for.

  10. Sandra says:

    Ann — She made it EXACTLY AS THE RECIPE CALLED FOR”!! What’s wrong with her? 🙂 My friend, Linda, and I have a running joke about that because many years ago she gave me a recipe for a soup and then a few days later asked how we liked it. I said it was great, but then made the mistake of telling her all the changes I had made (which were many). When I finished, she said, “I repeat — let me know how you like MY soup, when you make IT!” She’s a smart aleck, but still a dear friend.

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I love it that sometimes the comment section turns into kind of a conversation . It’s fun that just the blogging friends who have commented here are from all over, besides Linda and me who both live here in Indiana. Beth lives in Texas. Hilary in Ontario, Canada. Vicki is in Arkansas. And Carla lives in Texas. Feel free to join us any time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

