On the morning news …

… I saw something that made me teary.

A father and his little boy are shown on a surveillance video walking into a bank.  As they approach the teller counter, two masked men with guns run out from the back and apparently tell the father and son to get down on the floor.  You can see them do that and then you can see the father put him arm over his son and pull him under him.

That’s when I teared up.  The father’s first thought in the face of danger was to do what he could to protect his son.

Luckily the robbers were just interested in getting money and didn’t hurt them, but the father had no way of knowing that would be the outcome.

Greater love hath no man than to lay down his life for another.

 

5 Responses to On the morning news …

  1. Hilary says:

    Oh that does indeed tug at the heart. It’s what any loving parent would do and yet there’s something particularly tender about a father’s instinct to protect his young. I’m so glad nobody was hurt.

  2. Tim King says:

    Reminds me of Isaiah 49:15, which we were reading last week: “Can a woman forget her nursing child And have no compassion on the son of her womb? Even these may forget, but I will not forget you.”

    -TimK

  3. Sandra says:

    Hilary I felt exactly the same way. I was almost afraid to watch it to the end because I was afraid the dad was going to be shot.

    Tim — Being a parent is a very special trust from God isn’t it.

  4. C says:

    Have you seen “Life is Beautiful?” This is a beautiful story of just what lengths a father might go to in order to spare his child. C

  5. Sandra says:

    No, C, I didn’t see that movie. I have a tough time with stories like that from WWII — I haven’t seen Spphie’s Choice pr Schindler’s List either. But I do remember reading reviews and seeing previews of that movie and I could tell his love for his little boy was the theme. I know it must be so touching to see a story acted out that must have actually happened many times.

Leave a Reply

