My Father, My Mountain Guide

It has been my experience that faith gets easier as I get older.

Since I am a visual person, I can picture traveling through life as traveling up a winding road on a densely wooded mountain.

When I was young and at the bottom looking up, I could only see a little of the curvy road ahead and I had lots of anxiety and concern because I couldn’t see what was coming and this was an unfamiliar road.  And, even though I would ask for God’s help, it was hard to recognize how His hand was in the outcome of events.

But now that I’m older and closer to the top, it’s as if there are look-out points where I can look back and see the twists and turns in the road I’ve traveled.  And from this perspective it is so apparent how God guided, corrected and saved me on that road again and again.  In fact, I believe that sometimes when He not only answered a prayer but answered it in a far better or different way than I would have even thought to pray for, He was clearly demonstrating to me that it was Him, not me, who made that decision or solved that problem.

I still can’t see what awaits me beyond the next curve, but I’ve come to realize that whatever it is, I don’t have to worry because He is already there, waiting for me, ready to help me deal with whatever comes next.

May you be able to recognize God working in your life and may your faith be strengthened when you see the pattern of His loving guidance.

6 Responses to My Father, My Mountain Guide

  1. Linda says:

    Sandy, this is very well written. It’s a concept that has floated around in my mind for years but one I’ve never put words to. You said it better than I ever could. Have a blessed Lord’s Day!

  2. Sandra says:

    Thank you, Linda.

  3. Beckie says:

    Amen. Thanks for such a touching image. No Photoshop needed!

  4. Sandra says:

    Beckie — I’m always humbled when something I write touches someone — thank you for telling me, “kid”. 🙂

  5. C. Beth says:

    I love that. Even now, hindsight strengthens my faith. Looking forward to seeing where I am in 20, 30, 60* years.

    *60 years–I’ll be 93. Thinking positively here. 🙂

  6. Sandra says:

    It could happen, Beth. Don’t you have some pretty healthy grandparents? Those good genes combined with your healthy lifestyle could portend a long, healthy and hopefully happy life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

