Where did YOU come from?

Both of my children have recently mentioned to me (separately, without talking to each other about it!) that they wish I would do some research of their roots for the sake of my grandchildren.  And DD went one step further and suggested I document my attempts here and also share any interesting stories I find along the way.

DD thinks that if I, who have never done anything formal in regard to genealogy before, document my learning process and, hopefully, some successes, it might pique other’s interest in that process and maybe encourage them (you!) to do some searching of your own family tree.

My immediate reaction was not enthusiastic, but I’m gradually warming to the idea.

I’ve since recalled some interesting stories I heard from my father’s cousin and her husband, Irene and Damon, because they spent many of their retirement years traveling the country researching family history.  One time they were invited to attend the reunion of a very distant branch of our family out west somewhere.  What a surprise it was when they walked in and immediately met one of those very distant relatives who Irene said looked like an identical twin to her first cousin, my father’s sister, Aunt Mary Jane.  I also remember them talking about tracking down the grave of one long-lost ancestor who was buried in an Indian cemetery in, I believe, North Dakota.  Her marker just said, “white woman”.

So, if I’m going to try this, I need somewhere to start, and information that Irene and Damon collected in their travels seems like a logical beginning.  So, yesterday I fired off a note to Damon who lives in California near his daughter now, asking him for anything he can share.  I’m kind of excited to see what he has to share with me.

I’ll keep you posted if anything interesting develops.

4 Responses to Where did YOU come from?

  1. Linda says:

    This could turn out to be an interesting and challenging project. We’re in North Dakota now and will be driving across it on I-94 on Saturday. If your ancestor is buried near our route, we could try to find the grave and get a picture of it for you.

  2. Sandra says:

    Linda — What a great idea! Unfortunately, I have no idea where that cemetery is. But thanks for being willing! Have a safe trip.

  3. Hi Sandra!
    I’ve done a little genealogical research and it is great fun and SO interesting! There is a “Find a Grave” site and you can learn so much from a tombstone. Visiting my ggg-grandmother’s tombstone here in our city, (I knew they had come to AR from KY), but on the stone it said “born in Muhlenburg County, KY. I knew her son was a Confederate officer, but upon contacting the Muhlenburg Cty Genealogical Library they sent me copies for a mere $3.00 of HER grandfather’s will and application for a Revolutionary War pension. In it he detailed officers he had served under as a 17 or 18 yr. old Minuteman,(including the French General E’staing,(sp?), detailing battles he had fought in including the famous Battle of Cowpens, the Battle against the Cherokee Nation, the execution of a deserter–all IN HIS OWN WORDS!! I LEARNED ALL THIS FROM THE INSCRIPTION ON AN OLD TOMBSTONE! Keep digging for information–it is fascinating how one discovery leads to another.

  4. Sandra says:

    Boy, that IS exciting, V! Your success definitely inspires me. Thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

