A first NOT to be celebrated!

There are lots of “firsts” I would love to celebrate.  Two that come to mind are a hole-in-one in golf and reaching my goal in Weight Watchers.

But not all “firsts” in life are to be celebrated.  Two of THOSE which come to mind are … your first adolescent pimple that made you realize you didn’t inherit your mother’s perfect skin … and the first time (many, many years later) when you realize, “That person is treating me like I’m old!”

Yesterday I had another of those not-so-great firsts.

It was a very windy day and my golf league was playing the second week of the tournament which is the culmination of our season.

My two playing partners and I were on a green, ready to putt.  I was furthest away from the hole so I should putt first.  Neither of them was between me and the hole so there didn’t seem to be any reason to ask either of them to mark their ball.

I visually lined up my putt … it was about 6 feet. Certainly not a “gimme” for me, but I had been putting pretty well so I was hopeful.  I struck the ball with just about the right club speed and it headed for the hole.  But when it got a couple feet from the hole, it suddenly veered to the right.  It wasn’t going very fast by that time, so even though it was obviously not going to go in the hole it looked like it was going to stop pretty close to the hole.  But, even though going very slowly, it just continued to roll … and very slowly rolled right up to another ball and ever so slightly tapped it.

I have never hit someone else’s ball when putting … ever!  I knew there was a penalty for doing that but was really surprised when one of my partners looked it up in the rules … and the penalty was TWO STROKES!  Rats.

I hadn’t thought about the wind having been a factor until a group of us were having lunch afterwards and several of my friends said they had seen the wind change the direction of one of their putts.

So, I don’t feel quite so bad about this awful “first” now, because I’m going to assume it was a wind-assisted “first”, so not totally my fault.

That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

4 Responses to A first NOT to be celebrated!

  1. Hilary says:

    The answer, my friend, was blowing in the wind… 😉

  2. Sandra says:

    Of course it was, Hilary. Why didn’t I think of that! 🙂

  3. Suldog says:

    Heh. Reminds me of the time, a few years back, when I tried to stretch a single into a double. I was amazed to have been thrown out. It was a double I would have been safe on 99 times out of a hundred in previous years. When I got back to the bench, guys gave me the “Nice hustle, Sully!” and stuff like that. I knew then and there I was no longer a fleet-footed twenty year old, but a slower forty-something. And, now that I’m 53, I don’t try to take an extra base unless I am CERTAIN I will make it 🙂

  4. Sandra says:

    Suldog — I think that is the secret to “aging gracefully” … having realistic expectations for ourselves at whatever our age … and especially important … keeping a self-deprecating sense of humor! 🙂

Leave a Reply

