Book Review: A Waist is a Terrible Thing to Mind

This book has made a significant impression on me and my way of thinking about my eating, thinking and how I see myself, so I wanted to recommend it to you.

My sister-in-law brought it over for me to read when she returned a book I had loaned her.  Mainly because of  my SIL’s recommendation, but also because I was intrigued by its catchy title, I promised myself I would at least read some of it.  Well, I read it cover to cover and now I’ve ordered my own copy!  When I get my copy I plan to read it again and spend more time on the questions at the end of each chapter.

One of the things that Karen Scalf Linamen says that just struck me as so true and such an original thought was this:

I wouldn’t do something horrible to a friend just to solve a problem … I wouldn’t ask a friend who wasn’t hungry to eat a dozen donuts just to entertain me because I felt bored or restless … I definitely wouldn’t ask a friend to compromise her health so I could feel safe.  I wouldn’t ask her to gain fifty pounds and have acid reflux and high blood pressure just to save me the trouble of installing locks on my doors or taking a self-defense course or even going to counseling.

I love and respect my friends.  I would never ask them to suffer just to spare me the work of finding a real solution to whatever dilemmas I may be facing.  So why do I think it’s okay to ask my body to pay that same price?

Besides having wonderful insights into what makes us do self-destructive things like overeating, Karen is just plain funny!  As attested to by the titles of some of her other books (which I have also ordered):  Only Nuns Change Habits Overnight, Due to Rising Energy Costs, the Light at the End of the Tunnel Has Been Turned Off and Sometimes I Wake Up Grumpy and Sometimes I Let Him Sleep.  How can you not want to read books with those titles?

I’ve only read this one book so far by Ms. Linamen, but if the others are half as good as this one, I think I have a new favorite author!

7 Responses to Book Review: A Waist is a Terrible Thing to Mind

  1. C. Beth says:

    Those titles are fantastic! And it sounds like she has some really great wisdom in there.

  2. Sandra says:

    Beth — It’s very hard for me to put it into words, but her book spoke to me in a way that is really profound. I can’t wait to read her others, although they probably can’t possibly measure up to this one.

  3. Hi Sandra! Belinda suggested I look up your blog and I am SO THRILLED to read that “A Waist is a Terrible Thing to Mind” had such a positive impact for you! If you are on Facebook, it would be fun to connect there as well.

    And what a wonderful blog you have–loved the story about Hubby and the coroners’ convention!! 🙂 (Was also moved by the story of the baby who died, and your thoughts for the wellbeing of that young mother so long ago).

    I hope you enjoy the other books you’ve ordered, and in the meantime feel free to check out my blog http://www.witandwellness.com. Blessings to you and yours!

  4. Sandra says:

    Hi Karen! Leave it to my wonderful neighbor Belinda to “talk me up” to the author! Thanks so much for your kind comments about some of what I’ve wrote. 🙂

    Yes, I’m on facebook, sort of. I’m not very active on it, but I do enjoy going on occasionally and seeing what others have to say. Blogging and reading blogs is much more my medium.

    Thanks so much for stopping by.

  5. Johnny says:

    Hello Friend Thanks for the Review

  6. carlahoag says:

    I’m still laughing about the title “Sometimes I wake up Grumpy, and Sometimes I Let Him Sleep”. Joe didn’t laugh as hard as I did. 🙂

  7. Sandra says:

    Oh, Carla. Joe and Hubby — soooo lucky they got funny chicks like us for wives! 🙂

Leave a Reply

