A “Magic” Cure from My Childhood

In an advice column in the morning paper there was a discussion of remedies for car sickness, but the one Mama used on me wasn’t listed.

Gross alert here.  If you’re eating, come back later.

When I was very little I threw up regularly when we took car trips.  My family got very efficient at, after Daddy brought the car to a screeching halt, getting me out of the car and into the roadside ditch before the “event” occurred.

I don’t know why I was the only one in my family who had this problem.  All I know is is that at the time cars were biiiiig, and wiiiiiiide and had loosy goosy suspension.  So I think there was lots of sway in car rides, especially in the back seat where I rode.  I can practically make myself sick right now, just thinking about how that felt.  I have one memory of going up a mountain out west and as we would go around a curve I felt like the back part of the car where I was, would swing wayyyy out over the edge of the mountain.  I know, I know, that couldn’t be literally true, but try convincing a 5 or 6 year old of that!

Even though by my teens I had grown out of the throwing up reaction (thank goodness — sooo not “cool”), for most of my life I have had a “delicate stomach” when riding in the car.  I would mainly notice a little uneasiness or vertigo if I tried to read while riding.  Things whizzing by outside the car that I saw out of the corner of my eye would make me queasy even though I had long ago graduated to the front seat.  So, it is somewhat ironic that because you tend to lose your peripheral vision as you age, I have in just the last few years been able to feel comfortable reading while riding in the car.

But when I was little, at some point Mama arrived at her own idea for a remedy that worked for my queasy stomach.  She always carried room temperature 7-up (I don’t think most people had thought about carrying coolers in their cars when they traveled back then anyway) and the second part of the  “cure” was unfrosted orange cupcakes.  If I would say that I felt sick to my stomach she would pour me a little 7-up in a paper cup and give me an orange cupcake to nibble on.  Voila!  I would feel better.  I have no idea how or why that worked.  Maybe it was actually just putting something in my stomach, but you would have had trouble convincing me of that because to me the combination of warm 7-up and orange cupcake was “magic”!

Feel free to try Mama’s car sickness “cure”.  It’s not patented — it’s hard to patent “magic”

4 Responses to A “Magic” Cure from My Childhood

  1. C. Beth says:

    I’ve heard of 7-Up but not orange cupcakes! I think orange cupcakes should be an all-purpose cure, even for adults. Yum!

  2. Sandra says:

    I see orange cupcakes as “medicinal” too, Beth. 🙂

  3. carlahoag says:

    Whenever we were sick, Mama would fix homemade potato soup (broth based – not cream based) and 7-up. I wish she’d known about the orange cupcakes and 7-Up for motion sickness because I was plagued by it, and still am under certain driving conditions, like going too fast, especially over hills and around curves (I wonder if my husband is reading this, I hope, I hope). Riding in the back seat and my dad’s chain smoking didn’t help, either. Also, we were always on the way to visit family and Always had to go over the Ozarks.

    P.S. My sister is baking an orange cake for my mother’s 96th birthday next week, as a tribute to the kind she used to make for our family. I’m making the frosting, which won’t be like the 7 Minute kind she made; I’ll just do a buttercream.

  4. Sandra says:

    You know, Carla, I had never thought about my dad’s chain smoking as possibly being one of the causes of my motion sickness — maybe that DID have something to do with it.

    The cake for your mom’s birthday sounds delicious. Do they have orange cake mixes again, or is your sister making it from scratch? I know Mama and I were both disappointed one time in the 70’s when they had quit making them. I guess it’s a cake flavor that goes in and out of favor.

Leave a Reply

