Southwestern Appetizer Cheesecake

I had my book club here Wednesday night and made way too much food (I’ve inherited my mother’s fear of having too little food for any get-together I host).

But, even though I over did it, I was really happy with the appetizers I made, so I’ll be sharing several of the recipes with you in the near future.

The first one I want to share is an appetizer cheesecake.  It was in a column in the newspaper Wednesday morning … a little late for a “do” Wednesday night, but it looked so good I couldn’t resist.  And I was right.  My guests thought it was great, and loved that it was something different (aren’t we always looking for that?).

Southwestern Appetizer Cheesecake

Ingredients:

16 oz. softened cream cheese (I used Neufatel for a few less calories.)

2 cups (8 oz.) shredded sharp cheddar cheese

2 cups sour cream, divided

1- 1/2 pkgs. taco seasoning (I misread this and only used 1 pkg and it was great, but I’ll try it with the extra half-package next time.  Maybe it will be even better!)

3 eggs, room temperature

4 oz. can chopped green chilies, drained

Grease a 9-inch springform pan and pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl, combine cream cheese and cheddar cheese and beat until fluffy.  Stir in 1 cup sour cream and the taco seasoning mix.  Beat in eggs one at a time, mixing well after each one.  Fold in chilies. (I started out hand mixing this, but switched to the electric mixer because I could tell I would need it to make the mixture smooth.)

Pour into a well-greased 9-inch springform pan.  Bake 45 minutes or until center is firm (What was “firm” was a hard thing for me to decide.   In retrospect at 45 minutes I think mine was more just “set” than “firm”.  It turned out fine, but as it cooled it “settled” a little in the middle which tells me it could have been baked longer.  So next time I’ll bake mine 5 to 10 minutes more.)

When done, remove from the oven and cool on a wire rack for 10 minutes.

Spoon remaining 1 cup sour cream over cheesecake and bake an additional 5 minutes at 350 degrees.  Cool completely.

Cover and refrigerate several hours or overnight.

Before serving, remove sides of springform pan and top with salsa.  Serve with taco chips.

Makes 10 to 12 servings.

As a tribute to my dearly departed mother-in-law, who was famous in the family for trying new recipes on “company” and who was of German heritage, I wish you Essen gut! (Good eating!)

5 Responses to Southwestern Appetizer Cheesecake

  1. Tim King says:

    I know what you mean about fearing you’ll not have enough food. I’m stricken with that problem, too. I guess some part of me feels it would be better to have too many leftovers than to run out (or to have to ration food).

    This cheesecake sounds interesting. I’m not sure how I feel about something called “cheesecake” that’s made without sugar, though. 🙂 It sounds more like Taco Cream-cheese Custard than “cheesecake,” if you know what I mean. 🙂 Seriously, though, this might taste really good baked on a corn tortilla crust.

    -TimK

  2. Suldog says:

    I’d like to try this, but I think, even more so, I’d like to try a ‘true’ cheesecake with some sort of chile pepper topping. I’ll have to do a Google search and see if such a thing already exists. It probably does.

  3. Sandra says:

    Ha, Tim! I like the title “Taco Cream Cheese Custard” better too! It’s more descriptive. Or how about Cheesecake Surprise! I think I’ll change it. 🙂

    Suldog — The first time I had a cheesecake that wasn’t sweet I was at our daughter’s SIL’s loft in downtown Chicago (I was already charmed by the place, before the food was even served!) and the SIL, a gourmet cook, had a roasted red pepper cheesecake as an appetizer. And I think she served it with garlic toast wedges. Very cool … and delicious!

  4. I ALWAYS try new recipes on company…and when it’s almost ready to be put on the table, that’s when I worry if it will be tasty!

    Isn’t that just goofy?

  5. Sandra says:

    June — I can totally relate. It seems like such a good idea … weeks in advance. But an hour before guests arrive I do alot of second guessing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

