Beauty and Wit

We’ve just returned from a wonderful long weekend with family in Georgia.

While I was there, I took some pictures of these pretty red lilies in my sister, Betty’s yard:

In order to take some of these, I stood on a stool that Betty helpfully brought from the house.  Then while I stood on it, Betty who is 80 years old and her daughter Carol who is old enough that she has gray in her hair, stood on either side of me holding on to me “in case I fell”.  But I told them that realistically if I fell I would probably just fall on them and all three of us would be hurt.  Ahhh, but Carol, ever the quick wit, had an answer for that.  She said (in her sweet southern drawl), “We aren’t really holding on to you to keep you from falling.  We are holding on to you so that if we think you’re going to fall, we can push you away from us so that we won’t be hurt!”

Beautiful flowers, witty relatives.  Both were enjoyed, in their own way.

6 Responses to Beauty and Wit

  1. Hilary says:

    Witty relatives ARE beautiful flowers. Glad you had a nice time, Sandra.

  2. Sandra says:

    Amen, Hilary. 🙂

  3. C. Beth says:

    Ha ha ha! So funny!

    And those flowers are so pretty they almost look fake! Beautiful!

  4. Sandra says:

    Beth — They really were perfect. But they weren’t very close together, so they presented a real challenge to photograph. The bottom one was actually the first one taken … the previous day … in pouring rain. Betty stood on the porch and “coached” me while I stood in the rain to take some pictures.

  5. […] photography, tiger lily) I am in the midst of Family Issues and so this week I steal an idea from Sandra and give you pictures of Lilies from last summer. There is not as much blooming right now… […]

Leave a Reply

