I really want to know!

I love my blogging friends, C and V, at Stickhorse Cowgirls, and it’s not just because they are some of the few blogging friends I have whom I have actually met!

A few days ago, V did this post that just listed five questions.  She answered them first, and then she asked her readers to give their answers.

I was actually surprised at how interesting it was to read the answers to those five questions by her commenters who were, of course, complete strangers to me.

So, I thought I’d try that here.  Now, I do have to say that I never get alot of comments on this blog.  I’ve always assumed that’s because there is something about my way of expressing myself that doesn’t encourage response!

But this time, I would really like for lots of you to answer my questions because I think it might be fun for all of us.  Or not.  Let’s see.  Here are the five questions I have chosen to ask, and my answers:

1.  Are you a homebody or someone who is always looking forward to your next trip?

I am a homebody.  I enjoy traveling occasionally, but I’m always delighted to return home.

2.  If you had to be in a talent show, whether you wanted to or not, what would be your act?

I might read some poetry!  When I competed in speech tourneys in high school in the poetry reading category, I came to realize that there are lots of interesting, sometimes funny poems that I enjoy!

3.  They say that of all the senses, smell has the longest memory.  What a favorite smell you remember from your childhood?

My mother’s yeast rolls.  They were heavenly, to taste as well as to smell!

4.  If you were alone in your house (no family members or pets to worry about) and there was a fire, what would you grab as you ran out of the house?

My “brain”, i.e. my purse!  It contains all my credit cards, my checkbook, my wallet, my address book, my camera and even an umbrella!

5.  Do you have a favorite quote or saying that comes to mind frequently because it seems to frequently fit the situation?

Actually, my husband is the one who first became a fan of this saying, but I find it comes to mind often for me too, because it fits soooo many situations:

“Nothing is impossible if you don’t have to do it yourself.”

Okay.  Now let me hear your answers!

21 Responses to I really want to know!

  1. cookingwiththejoneses says:

    Okay Sandra, here we go!!
    1.I love travelling but equally happy to return home.
    2.Clown! Did the clown bit in the school show aged 12.
    Charged a penny entrance fee, gave the money to a charity..the whole school came! Wish they’d had video camera’s in those days.
    3.My Grandmothers boiled fruit cake, we used to make in her kitchen on a Sunday morning & I got to lick the mixing bowl!
    4.My dressing gown! I sleep in the nude..wouldn’t want to frighten the firemen!
    5.Don’t let the dreams of life be interrupted by the clock of reality.
    Whew…that’s me done ;o)

    • Sandra says:

      Oh, Lesley — I love this! Charitable clown, lover of licking the mixing bowl, nude sleeper … and dreamer! I feel like I know you so much better than I did before! 🙂

  2. C. Beth says:

    1. Are you a homebody or someone who is always looking forward to your next trip?

    A little of both. I’m a homebody most of the time but I do love going to visit family.

    2. If you had to be in a talent show, whether you wanted to or not, what would be your act?

    A monologue; my degree is in theatre.

    3. They say that of all the senses, smell has the longest memory. What a favorite smell you remember from your childhood?

    My Mamma’s house.

    4. If you were alone in your house (no family members or pets to worry about) and there was a fire, what would you grab as you ran out of the house?

    My purse and my computer. 🙂

    5. Do you have a favorite quote or saying that comes to mind frequently because it seems to frequently fit the situation?

    Lately I have a mantra I often use since I’ve been running: “Even a bad run is still a good workout!”

    (I like your hubby’s saying!)

    • Sandra says:

      Beth — Would your monologue be serious or funny? I remember at the speech meets sitting in on rounds of dramatic oratory and just being spell-bound by the stories they told. You remembering the smell of your Mamma’s house, makes me think about all the other smells I remember from my mother’s house — they all said “home”, even when I was an adult.

      I am so impressed by the commitment you have made to running. I tried that when I was about your age and never got beyond running 2 1/2 miles. Now, looking back, it would be nice if I had kept it up. Good for you, Beth!

  3. C. Beth says:

    P.S. “Mamma” is my mom’s mom. Pronounced “Mam-maw”.

  4. Cathy Norris says:

    1. I’m a homebody – just LOVE to have a day that I don’t have anywhere to go. But even I can get too much of home and if I’ve been couped up too long, have to get out.

    2. Oh my, I don’t think you can quilt at a talent show, can you?

    3. The smell of bread cooking. We had a bakery outside of town when I grew up and every time we’d go by there, someone would say, “Mmmm, smell that bread.” One day we were going by it and I said, “Mmmm, smell that bread” and everyone took a whiff and all they smelled was the stockyards! It was a bit further down the road and by the time they took a breath, the wind had changed – so now the joke in the family is to say, “Mmmm, smell that bread” when we smell the stockyards!

    4. My purse, my computer (with all the pictures on it) and maybe a quilt or two.

    5. “My mama always said, ‘If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all'”

    • Sandra says:

      Well, Cathy I’m sure the next time we drive past something unpleasant smelling, I’ll think about your story. In fact, I’ll probably tell it to Hubby and then he and I will smile whenever we “smell the bread” too! Love that story.

      Since I’ve seen pictures of some of your quilts, I picture more of an art show for you rather than a talent show. I would certainly pay to just walk around and admire them!

  5. C says:

    1. HOMEBODY! Without a doubt.

    2. I have no talent…really. I might do a reading, too. Certainly no singing and dancing!

    3. My childhood memories are of “summer smells.” Mown grass, watermelon. Also, my mother’s perfume almost always meant she was “going out.”

    4. If you were alone in your house (no family members or pets to worry about) and there was a fire, what would you grab as you ran out of the house?

    My purse, for sure. Probably my laptop.

    5. Quotes are my “thing.” I can’t ever have a “favorite,” only a “current.” I write them on the white board at our office. What it says right now is: “The only job where you start at the top is digging a hole.” I also recently got a sign from a client who knows I love the Wizard of Oz which says, “I have flying monkeys, and I’m not afraid to use them.” (wait a minute! Is she implying I’m a witch??!!) C.

    • Sandra says:

      Okay, C. Since you and I don’t have any talent, maybe we could do a routine — you know, kind of an Abbott and Costello? 🙂 Or maybe V would want to be part of it too, so we could do The Three Stooges or the Marx Brothers! 🙂

      I love the way you describe summer smells — brings back some of the same wonderful memories of my own. (one of the summer SOUNDS that come to mind is the sound of cycadias “chirping” in the trees on a summer evening).

      And I really like “The only job where you start at the top is digging a hole.” Probably a really good quote for young “hot shot” lawyers to read! 🙂

      I am SURE your client meant the plaque in the kindest way. It reminds me of a sign DD had on the door of her dorm room at college for a while that said, “I have PMS and a gun, now what do you want?”

  6. Hilary says:

    Fun idea, Sandra.

    1) I like to get away.. I just rarely do. There’s more for my camera to see away from home. 😉

    2) Oh that’s a tough one. I can’t sing. I can’t dance .. though given some training I might accomplish the latter well enough. Can’t I just attend and take photos? 😉

    3) “The country.” When I was really little we would spend our summers up north in a rented cottage. My Dad would be there weekends when he was done work. It always smelled wonderful.. pine, fresh earth, sandy beaches on the lake, freshly-oiled dirt roads. It smelled of the country.

    4) My purse, kidlet photo albums, hard drive, camera.. in whatever order I found them.

    5) Not that I tend to use it, but “It is what it is” tends to fit rather often.

    • Sandra says:

      Re. dancing. After having just completed watching the season of Dancing with the Stars, I’m absolutely sure there were a couple of celebrities on there whom you could have easily replaced! Maybe you and I could do a little soft shoe routine together?

      But, you, like Cathy with her quilts, have such a talent for photography that I picture you more in an art show than a talent show. I have never come across another photographer who takes pictures I enjoy more than yours. They are exquisite. I am so glad you share them.

      “pine, fresh earth, sandy beaches on the lake, freshly-oiled dirt roads” — I feel like I can picture it. A wonderful memory.

  7. Mary Bowlin says:

    1. I am some what of a homebody. Like to be out and about too.
    2. In High School I was a Baton Twirler…maybe a little routine!!! 🙂
    3. Being out on the lake….and clean sheets (hung out on the line)
    4. My Mom’s ring that I have..
    5. My Dad always said: If you haven’t got something nice to say, don’t say anything at all…

    • Sandra says:

      Mary! I didn’t know you could twirl a baton!! I was always jealous of people like you. I received a baton as a gift when I was little, but found out that it takes some real talent to get that thing twirling and doing tricks with it! I’ll have to ask you to demonstrate with a golf club the next time we play! 🙂

      Oh, sheets dried on the clothes line — it doesn’t get any better than that, does it.

      I hope that someday, after I’m gone, one of my granddaughters will wear my ring and it will remind them of me. I’m sure that’s what your mother’s ring does for you.

  8. Barb says:

    1. Homebody…what a luxury to just stay home!
    2. In 1960, 8th grade, I performed a monologue of ‘The Amatuer Gum Chewer’. I am surprised at the people who still remember it!
    3. Every Sunday, in Harlan, Indiana, my Grandma’s homemade chicken and noodles.
    My favorite sound memories are of my Dad playing the old fashioned button accordion.
    4. My purse and cell phone.
    5. Be careful what you wish for.

  9. Sandra says:

    Hi, Barb! I would LOVE to hear your “The Amateur Gum Chewer” monologue! Just the name tells me it must be really fun. 🙂

    Home-made chicken and noodles? Did the chicken and noodles the cooks at our high school made remind you of your grandma’s? I remember LOVING theirs.

    Great memories. Thanks for sharing them!

  10. Julie says:

    1. Homebody! I’m with you though, I like to travel, but love to return home.

    2. Even though this would be so completely boring to watch, I would crotchet a baby blanket. I feel like crocheting is something that comes naturally for me and I absolutely LOVE to do it.

    3. My mom’s pot roast. It always reminds me of Sunday lunch after church. Another one is burning leaves in the late summer, early fall months. I loved helping my dad do this when I was really little.

    4. My purse, my bible, and my wedding album.

    5. It’s all good…. (even when it appears not to be!)

  11. Sandra says:

    Julie — You could crochet, Cathy could quilt and Hilary could take pictures, and we could call it performance art! It might take a while, but I would guarantee that the results from all three of you would be worth the wait!

    It’s interesting that your memory of the smell of pot roast after church is one I treasure from MY childhood too. And I really miss the smell of burning leaves. I know it’s because of air pollution, but I wish there weren’t laws against burning them, they smell so wonderful.

    Have a wonderful long weekend. Looking forward to seeing you at your parent’s anniversary in July. Love, Aunt Sandy

  12. Bro JIM says:

    1. I guess you would say that I am a homebody. I love to be at home but I also like people and therefore like to travel to see them.
    2. I am affraid that I have very little talent that anyone would want to watch in a talent show, but if I was forced onto the stage I would probably just stand there and act stupid. I guess that is called my talent on stage.
    3. Satarday was always Mon’s baking day and the smells that came from her kitchen will never be forgotten by me.
    4. In case of fire I would probably just walk out. Life is precious but all things are either unimportant or can be replaced.
    5. You can’t fix stupid.

  13. Sandra says:

    Jimmy — “Stupid” is not a word I would have EVER used for you. My take on that talent show would be that you would just get out there and talk in your easy-going way, and charm them all! I love you big brother and would LOVE to see you if you could make it to the reunion in July.

    Your baby sister

  14. Sleepless In OL says:

    1. Are you a homebody or someone who is always looking forward to your next trip?

    I’m always looking forward to my next trip. We go camping often and there is nothing like the outdoors to aid in the much needed self-care.

    2. If you had to be in a talent show, whether you wanted to or not, what would be your act?

    Comedy. Laughter is soooooo good for you. It really gets your endorphins going.

    3. They say that of all the senses, smell has the longest memory. What a favorite smell you remember from your childhood?

    Buttered popcorn that my Mom made and we took with us in our station wagon to go to the drive-in movie. We’d watch the first movie and fall asleep and my Mom and Dad would watch the second movie of the double feature.

    4. If you were alone in your house (no family members or pets to worry about) and there was a fire, what would you grab as you ran out of the house?

    My twelve string guitars.

    5. Do you have a favorite quote or saying that comes to mind frequently because it seems to frequently fit the situation?

    “We are shaped by our past. So be careful what you do in your past” -Confusious
    Seems to keep me remembering to aspire to do what is right, hold my tongue and think before I act.

  15. Sandra says:

    Sleepless — Those are some really interesting answers! I assume you must play the twelve string guitar? Well then, stand by — the next time I see you I would appreciate a little demonstration! 🙂

Leave a Reply

