Manly Bags

Two things that I found interesting happened at our recent garage sale regarding men and bags.

First, a woman bought two of my matching Vera Bradley bags (quilted fabric bags usually made out of brightly patterned material) that were a black and brown pattern.  But as she paid for them she told us that she was buying them for her son-in-law, because they weren’t as “frilly” as most Vera Bradley bags!

After she left, Candy and I looked at each other and said, “Well, they are black but the print is still flowers!”  But we decided that when the SIL didn’t like them, which we were pretty sure would be the case, his wife would enjoy them.  I just wish I could have been there when his MIL gave them to him and heard what he said.  I hope they have a great relationship!

Secondly, Hubby had me sell a black nylon bag that he had used to carry boxes of ammunition to the shooting range.  For some reason, he had ended up with two just alike, so wanted to sell the extra.  It was one of the “manly” things we had for sale.  One guy who looked at it asked if it had been a doctor’s bag.  I guess that was because it folded out from the middle of the top like the old doctor’s bags that he and I (we found out we were the same age) remembered from when we were children and doctor’s made house calls with their little bags.  But he didn’t buy it.

So later, a very macho looking young guy came through and he saw the “doctor’s bag”.  After looking at it for just a minute, he came over to give me the money for it, and he told me how he was going to use it.  You will never guess in a million years what he said. He said they were expecting their first child and he was going to use it as a diaper bag!  A bag that is going to go from storing ammunition to one that stores diapers — I bet that doesn’t happen very often!  The reaction of his wife when he brought home the new “diaper bag” is another conversation I think I would have enjoyed hearing.

When you think about it, garage sales are unique in the opportunities they give you to meet a variety of verrry interesting people, without leaving home!

Happy Friday!

6 Responses to Manly Bags

  1. C. Beth says:

    Those are great stories! I love, “when the SIL didn’t like them,” because I totally agree he won’t like those bags! But his wife is lucky!

    I think the ammo/doctor/diaper bag is great. My husband never likes carrying my diaper bags if they are too girly. So maybe the dad can use his one; his wife can use frilly one; and everyone will be happy. The only thing that would have made it more perfect would have been if his wife had come and bought one of the Vera Bradley bags to use for diapers!

  2. Sandra says:

    You know, Beth, really, sitting out there “watching the world go by” is so much fun. I wonder if just any cross-section of America would be as interesting, or if it is that garage sale-ing specifically attracts such interesting characters!

  3. Chrissy Witt says:

    Garage sales are great for those with imagination and a way to picture what it could be! I think it’s neat how the original owner could only see it for one use and someone comes along and gives a whole new option! cool stories!

  4. carlahoag says:

    My mother loved to do what she called “people watching” and when I’ve found myself having to wait for awhile at the mall or at Sam’s Club, I just watch people to keep from sitting there being bored. My dad, on the other hand, never met a stranger. He would’ve had a ball at your garage sale!

    And I agree with C. Beth’s comment and maybe more men would carry the diaper bag if it looked more masculine.

  5. Hilary says:

    Yup, I have to agree with C Beth and Carla. If it means Dad is getting his own diaper bag so that he can feel comfy about what he carries around when he’s on duty, I think it’s wonderful. So many men wouldn’t think like that. This guy sounds like a gem.
    Years ago, my cousin’s (now ex) husband decided to buy a man bag. For all intents and purposes, it was a squared off looking purse. He would always feign feeling insulted when someone would mention the “purse” or “manbag” and would respond with “It’s not a purse/manbag. It’s a European carryall!” Yeah, like that makes it sound manly. 😉

  6. Sandra says:

    Chrissy — You are so right. The old saying “One man’s trash is another one’s treasure.” is so true! 🙂

    Carla — People are soooo interesting. I love it when I have an opportunity, like a garage sale, to just sit and watch people (and of course do a little talking too) 🙂

    Hilary — I’m been fascinated the times I’ve seen a man carrying a manbag. I don’t care how much they want to look like they are comfortable with it, I’d guess most of them give it up after a while. I just can’t imagine that it would ever get to where it felt natural to most men.

Leave a Reply

