Garage Sale Epilogue

How often do you really look at your garage, I mean really look at it?  Well, I don’t even think about our garage as a whole most of the time.  It’s just a place to put the cars and store some “stuff”.

But when you have a garage sale, a garage suddenly becomes “center stage”.  You move the vehicles out for a couple days.  You tidy up the things around the edges and you sweep it out.

You set up tables and drag all the things you hope will sell out to put on the tables.  And then, when the sale begins, you “live” at a table where the money box is for at least a day just reading, and talking, and of course collecting money.

Then the sale is over, and life needs to return to normal.  But a few things linger as reminders:

… Too bad I don’t know someone else who is going to have a sale … soon! (before the balloons go down).

… The trash can looks extra “festive” with  discarded stickers

… Mama’s 30-cup coffee pot (it has to be at least 40 years old) needed to be washed and put away.  Its only sign of age is that it talks loudly while it perks.  But it still makes great coffee, and Candy and I appreciated the “bottomless” pot of coffee on a chilly sale day.

… In  one corner are the boxes of unsold items to be taken to charity.

And, of course, there are a few things that I just couldn’t send to charity, so they’re back in the house!

I put the Furby out and priced him at his original sale price, $30.00.  Not one person even expressed an interest.  I really ought to try to find out how to sell him on line, because I would really like to get rid of his ugly little self.

This plate and bowl didn’t sell, but I think they are so pretty, I just couldn’t give them away.  I saw instructions on a blog a couple years ago for making a plate and a cup or bowl into a cake plate …

…  by assembling them like this.  All that is required is ceramic glue.

Buuuut, after buying the components to make a few of these, I got interested in other projects and the plates and bowls eventually just got stored.   Gradually, I did use some of them and gave others away, but I still had three sets and a couple of extra plates.  Some sold and some didn’t.

The bowl I bought to go with this plate is long gone, and I would have felt fine by selling the plate for the two bucks I was asking, but I just like it too much to let it go for nothing!

Bottom line.  I’ve got some things like these that I have now re-stored.  (And I’ve also found some other things that I should have put in the sale.)  So, let’s be honest, there may be another garage sale in my future.

Oh-oh, I suddenly see where this might be going.  I went to a garage sale once that was a little old lady with three or four round tables in her garage, each covered in a linen tablecloth.  And on each table were a few knick-knacks carefully arranged.  Me in fifteen years?  Sigh.  Maybe.

6 Responses to Garage Sale Epilogue

  1. C. Beth says:

    I LOVE that cake plate idea!!!

  2. Sandra says:

    I love the IDEA too, Beth. I think I even bought a tube of ceramic glue, but what held me back is, what to do with them after I got them made! The finished cake plate(s) would require significantly more space to store than the components. This is one of those crafts that sounded great at first, but in reality didn’t really work with my limited storage in this smaller house.

  3. C says:

    Okay, I love the cake plate idea.

    Now, the space I fear is my attic. When we built this house, we planned for lots of easy-access attic space. Bad idea. It is full of I-don’t-know-what. If I don’t know it’s there, do I need it???

    Must do something about this…someday. C

  4. Sandra says:

    C — What I tell myself is, “If I have it but don’t know where it is, I might as well not have it!” I am somewhat impatient, so if I can’t find what I’m looking for right away (little things, of course), I will go buy one. I am really working at getting this “stuff” under control.

    btw, I just love the cake plate idea too, but like I told Beth, storage is a problem.

  5. Chrissy Witt says:

    too cute! I know your garage sale went well, as it did last year! I know you will be having another! But didn’t you enjoy so many of the people you met at your garage sale? That’s the good-stuff!

  6. Sandra says:

    Chrissy — you are so right! Wish you lived close enough to come to one of these so we could visit, and you could buy some of my “stuff”! 🙂

Leave a Reply

