Hey, I have a great idea! Let’s get married at intermission!

I found this page in one of the old photo albums I just brought home from my sister’s house.  These are pictures of Mama and her good friend Opal, who was actually the one who introduced her to Daddy.

Mama (age 19) is in every picture — Opal is just in the ones on the sides.  I guess the emphasis would be the other way around if they were in Opal’s album!

But what I found most interesting about this page is the “wedding announcement” at the bottom of the page.  Here is a close-up:

Joe and Opal were the couple who stood up with Mama and Daddy when they got married two years later.  I’d heard that many times, but I don’t remember ever hearing about their own unique wedding.  Maybe I’m reading this wrong, but it certainly looks like they got married as part of the entertainment in a theater!

That may be the most unusual wedding I’ve ever heard of, what about you?

4 Responses to Hey, I have a great idea! Let’s get married at intermission!

  1. Hilary says:

    That’s what it sounds like to me, too. Very cool. It’s amazing what interesting stories hide within the pages of a well-documented photo album or scrapbook. And you’re doing a great job of uncovering some of the best.

  2. Sandra says:

    Thanks, Hilary. I am really having fun with all this new old information! Tomorrow I’ll be starting a new series that I hope you’ll enjoy too. 🙂

  3. C. Beth says:

    I love this idea! How neat!

  4. Sandra says:

    Beth — Definitely a “memorable” way to get married! 🙂

Leave a Reply

