The Good, The Bad and The Mismatched

Yesterday wasn’t a great day …

In the morning I decided to try on what I was going to wear to a brunch today.  That’s when I realized the navy blue knit skirt and jacket (the same brand) I had purchased didn’t match!  That wasn’t evident in the store when I purchased them a month ago and I had just brought them home and hung them in the closet, never really looking at them again until now!

I planned to attend a retirement lunch for a former co-worker at 11:30, but suddenly realized I hadn’t written a letter for his memories book, so I hurried up and whipped one of those out.

About 11, I drove to the building I used to work in (the truck manufacturer, not the jail!).  When I got there at 11:15 there were only two other cars in the visitors parking lot.  Hmmm, where were all the other guests?  Unfortunately when I went inside I found out I had, for some inexplicable reason, put Dennis’ retirement party on Thursday on the calendar, instead of next Tuesday!  So, not wanting the trip to be a total waste, on the way out I stopped by the offices of several former co-workers, and gave them a good laugh because I had shown up on the wrong day (I’m sure making them silently pray that when THEY retire, they won’t become confused like me!).

Next I went to the mall to return the mismatched outfit and tried on alternatives.  I bought a few pieces that might work, but I will probably end up wearing something I already have.  At least when I entered the store through the door by the shoe department I ran across a pair of brown sandals I liked, so the trip wasn’t a total disappointment.

But after spending considerable time trying on clothes, I finally just got tired of looking for the perfect outfit, purchased the few things I did find, and left.  But when I got to my car, I couldn’t find my keys.  So I went back in and talked to the clerks in the area where I had been trying on clothes.  No keys in the fitting room or turned in.  Rats.

Went back to the car.  Thanks to keyless entry and Hubby making the code my birthdate so that I wouldn’t forget it, I was able to get into the car and to my cellphone, which I always keep in the console plugged in, because I normally only use it with the blue tooth.  Anyway, I called Hubby (who was scheduled to play golf shortly) and told him my sad little tale.  He said he would leave right away to bring me another set of keys.

As I sat in the car waiting for “my hero”, it occurred to me that maybe I hadn’t dropped my keys in the clothing department where I had spent the majority of my time, but much earlier in the shoe department.  So on a hunch, I  quickly went back in and looked up the guy in the shoe department I had bought my sandals from — yes he had found my keys and put them behind the desk.   Halleluia!  They had apparently fallen out of my purse onto the chair where I had set it while I tried on sandals!

I rushed back out to the car and called Hubby to tell him he didn’t have to come.  Of course, he was half-way there, but at least I reached him before he got completely there!

When I got home I was, as Mama used to say, “rung out”!  But it’s funny how reviving “home” can be.  After just a little quiet time, eating a sandwich for supper (by myself,  because thankfully I hadn’t made Hubby too late for his golf league) and sitting down to read for a while, I felt much better.

And today, when I look back at yesterday from the other side of a good night’s sleep, there’s lots to be thankful for:

At least I discovered the new outfit didn’t match a day before I was supposed to wear it.  I could not only return it and shop for something else, but I had time to think about what other alternatives were in the closet.

Yes, I went to the office for a party that isn’t until next Tuesday, but I did get to see several old co-workers I hadn’t talked to in quite a while.  And, as an added bonus, I found out that there are several truck salesmen who still (I’ve been retired from there eight years) ask about me once in a while when they call in.  It’s always nice to know you’re not forgotten.

Yes, I lost my keys.  But I am so thankful that the shoe salesman found them and kept them for me.

I’m also thankful for a husband who without hesitation took the chance that he would be late for his golf league to come “rescue” me at the mall. And then didn’t have one word of criticism when I found them and his half-trip was for nothing.

And the weather yesterday was absolutely gorgeous.

Sometimes bad stuff happening makes us appreciate the good stuff more, doesn’t it?

But even though it wasn’t all bad, I wouldn’t want to have a day like yesterday too often!

5 Responses to The Good, The Bad and The Mismatched

  1. Hilary says:

    Sometimes it seems as if those little series of mishaps seem to happen just to test our ability to see the underlying blessings. Clearly, you always do. My day? It’s starting off by reading one of my favourite people. Looks like a good day is in store.

  2. C. Beth says:

    I LOVE your optimistic attitude!!

  3. Julie says:

    I appreciate the fact that you can now see the good things that happened yesterday, as well as the bad. Isn’t life like that? There are always seems to be at least a few good things that come out of bad situations if you step back and look for them.

  4. Sandra says:

    Hilary — You are definitely one of the blessings in my life. Thank you.

    Beth — I’ve come to realize that wallowing in the bad stuff does absolutely no good — for myself or those around me! And if I look, I’m sometimes amazed at the good I can find!

    Julie — We find what we’re looking for, don’t we. 🙂

  5. chrissy says:

    Beautiful attitude. You have great strength to be able to find positive in the things that go “wrong”. Truth is, we don’t know, maybe you were being protected from worse!

Leave a Reply

