Reporter Sandra on the job…

I was looking back through some of my old posts the other day.  When I came to this one, Nicknames Used to be More Interesting, I was intrigued all over again (with a bad memory “all things are new again”) by the comment my sister, Betty Rose had written:

I met Cousin Bertha many times. She lived in California with her father Uncle Green. They were cousins of Mama’s.

Uncle Green always asked for “tea kettle tea” which was simply hot water to which he added milk and sugar!

Their last name was Farris. Green was his first name. What were his parents thinking?

Cousin Bertha was an old maid until Uncle Green died, then at age 60 she got married!

I looked through Mama’s book for a story to share about these two relatives who may have had an interesting story, but so far I haven’t found one (although there may be one buried inside a story about something else).

I’d like to know more about a man whose first name was Green, favorite drink was hot water with milk and sugar in it and whose apparently devoted daughter stayed home to take care of him in his old age.

And about the woman who did stay at home with her father for most of her life and then married for the first time at the age of 60, and who was called Cousin Bertha by at least some of her relatives.

I’ll keep looking … I think I smell a story (or is that just dinner burning!).

3 Responses to Reporter Sandra on the job…

  1. Chrissy Witt says:

    interesting! I know you will get the the story!!

  2. Sandra says:

    Believe me, Chrissy. If I find it, you’ll hear about it! 🙂

  3. C. Beth says:

    Yes, I think there must be some good stories there! I hope you can discover them!

Leave a Reply

