Tell me again … what does PG-13 mean?

We went to see Date Night last night.  It had been given really good reviews and it starred Steve Carrell, an actor I have always enjoyed.  I could picture him and Tina Fey being well matched as a married couple and they were!  There were some really sweet little parts between the two of them…but overall I am embarrassed for them that they agreed to be in a movie that respected itself so little.

This is a movie I could picture Rock Hudson and Doris Day doing and turning it into a classic.  But I don’t believe A-list actors from that era would ever have agreed to be in a movie that made them say the words and act in the ways that this movie required.

The movie reminded me of the times in life when I have met a person who seemed pleasant and attractive…until they opened their mouth and filthy language spewed out.

It’s a bad sign when you think less of everyone associated with a movie after seeing it.

Tell me again … what does PG-13 mean?  Because, in my opinion, this movie should definitely have been rated R, with an NC added for no class.

10 Responses to Tell me again … what does PG-13 mean?

  1. Hilary says:

    Oh that’s disappointing to hear. I’ve not seen it but have seen both Steve Carrell and Tina Fey promoting it on various shows. I love both of their brilliant comedic minds – particularly on their respective, current TV shows. I suppose I’ll check it out sometime but not likely in the theatre. Thanks for the heads up.

  2. Sandra says:

    Hilary — I felt the review I read by Roger Ebert was misleading. It really sounded like a fun movie, but he never indicated that every scene would be based on sexual innuendo and images. It was too bad, because the movie actually had an underlying theme of preserving marriage! A disappointment that I hoped I could save others from.

  3. carlahoag says:

    You have my full sympathy. I don’t know how many times I’ve left a theater disappointed or aggravated.

    I, too, like Steve Carrell. But I was really put off by the homosexual humor in “Get Smart”. If I remember correctly, they inserted 3 brief scenes that fell into that category.

    It’s obvious to me when they’re trying to influence audiences to accept something. They put in a little something, maybe just one thing. Then a little more.

    We rarely go to the movies now, which is a shame, because I’ve always been a big movie fan.

    http://www.screenit.com is a free website that lists offensive content (there’s an option to purchase a membership, but it’s not required). I always visit screenit before we go to the movies.

    And no, PG-13 doesn’t mean anything except ‘watch out’. We’ve seen PG-13’s that weren’t bad at all, and several that should’ve been rated R. I saw Jack Valenti (head of the MPAA) on television once, and he said that it’s a misconception that there is a set of criteria they use to rate a movie.

  4. Sandra says:

    Wow, Carla. What a lot of good information! I’ll definitely remember screenit and it’s also interesting to know that there aren’t any criteria for assigning a rating — that explains a lot of things!

    We love to go to Cinema Grille where we can eat the best burger in town while watching a movie, so I’m sure we’ll keep going, but I will be more educated about my picks from now on. Thanks.

  5. C. Beth says:

    What a bummer! The previews for that film have looked really cute.

  6. Sandra says:

    Beth — I thought so too, that’s the reason I felt fooled by what it was actually like. And that’s not to say that there weren’t some cute moments, but they were surrounded on all sides by some really smutty stuff. 😦

  7. Tim King says:

    PG-13 is supposed to mean that it’s probably okay for 13-year-olds to watch, or at least not over their heads. But I never trust ratings, preferring to use my own judgment, so that at least I’ll know what they’re watching and what kind of questions I’ll be likely to get.

    -TimK

  8. Sandra says:

    Tim — Very wise to makes your own judgment — especially when children are involved.

  9. Vera says:

    My partner and I stumbled over here from a different web address
    and thought I might as well check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to checking out your web page yet again.

  10. Muscle Maximizer Review says:

    As mentioned, thousands of people have already
    seen life changing results after using Kyle Leon’s Muscle Maximizer for just a few weeks, and there is nothing that says that you can’t experience the
    same changes as well. These days there are virtually 1000’s of guys and females who are seeking to create muscle mass and strip off body body fat in purchase to transform the way their bodies’ glimpse and really feel.
    Whenever upgrades became ready you’ll fully grasp this totally free no matter what quantity of money cost to establish them.

Leave a Reply

