Who’s Kay?

My last post about sharing my name with my sister-in-law, reminded me of another story about my name.

When I was 9 years old my parents and I moved to Indiana and I was intrigued by the idea that I was somewhere that no one knew me.  So I saw that as an opportunity to change my name!  Well, not exactly change my name — but change what people called me.

So when I met the kids in my new neighborhood I told them my name was Sandra Kay, but that I was called “Kay”.   And, of course, they immediately started calling me that.

Welllll, it only took about a week for that to get really confusing.  For one thing, my own mother couldn’t remember (or didn’t choose to remember) to call me Kay!  A fact that the other kids surely must have noticed.

But an even bigger problem was that I had trouble remembering to answer to Kay.  Someone would yell, “Hey, Kay!” and I wouldn’t even look up.

I don’t remember how I explained the change to my new friends, but I very quickly reverted to being called Sandy.

In retrospect, it’s too bad I didn’t stick with this plan.  It would have made things a little simpler when “Sandi” married into the family.

6 Responses to Who’s Kay?

  1. Suldog says:

    Coming from a typical Irish family, I am not only Jim, but I have an Uncle Jim, and I had a Great Uncle Jim. So, to avoid confusion, that side of the family called me Shawn (my middle name)!

  2. Sandra says:

    Wellll, Suldog, when Sandi married into the family I did have one request — that they not call us “big Sandi (I’m 5’7″) and little Sandi (she’s 5’2”) or “old Sandi and young Sandi” (I’m 4 yrs. older than her). At least within my hearing, the family always honored my wishes! 🙂

    Re. my “Kay experiment” I think that was just a 9 year recognizing one of the possibilities of starting over with a clean slate in a new town. But I found out pretty quickly I just didn’t feel like “Kay”!

    btw, I like “Shawn”. If THAT had been my middle name, maybe I’d have stuck with it! 🙂

  3. C says:

    One of good friends growing up was “Mona Kay.” When we got into high school,she became “Kay,” despising her first name.

    I have had two “Cynthia” friends who eschewed “Cindy,” which we had all used for them their whole lives. It took FOREVER for us to switch to calling them by their “real” names, but it seemed important to them, so we all did. It seems natural now–15 years later!

    Me? I go by either “Cynthia” or “Cindy,” the former being used most often at work. No big deal to me, either way! C

  4. Sandra says:

    C — Sometimes a name change is a tough sell, especially if your husband can’t remember to make the change! In our church there is an attendance book at the end of each row that is passed down the row to be signed. Hubby kept signing it “Jim and Sandi” until I finally noticed he was still doing that and passed it back to him for correction. He’s finally come around. 🙂

  5. Dennis Herman says:

    After all these years we could have been calling you Kay and Keith’s wife, Sandy. Why didn’t we think of that?

  6. Sandra says:

    Been there, done that, Denny. And had already found out “Kay” just didn’t work for me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

