A cheap but high maintenance chair!

About a week ago I got a great deal on a new office chair to use at our computer desk.  It was $89 during a big office chair sale at our near-by office supply store.

But when I came up here early this morning to write a post, even before I turned on a light, I could see something white laying under the chair.  My great buy was already falling apart!

Can you guess what it is that had fallen off?  It’s that universally feared label that says “Under penalty of law this tag not to be removed.”  Although, I guess because of all the jokes over the years about these tags, this new “improved” version of the tag does say, “Under penalty of law this tag not to be removed except by the consumer.”   The rest of the tag talks about flammability and lists the materials used in the seat cushion.  Well, okay.  Since I’m the “consumer” I guess I can just throw that tag away.

But wait, after I turned on the light and took this picture, I happened to notice that another white label was hanging down from the back side of the chair, also ready to fall off.  So I pulled it off and read it.  Hmmm, that hanging-by-a-thread label read, “WARNING  Do not remove this tag.”  (Oops!)  Well, I already had it off so I might as well read it.  It lists six points that I can see a bunch of lawyers coming up with while sitting around a long table in a conference room somewhere:

.  This chair has been tested and approved for users weighing up to 225 lbs. (100 kg).  It is not recommended for use by anyone weighing more than 225 lbs. (100 kg).

. This chair is designed for sitting on the seat only and nothing else.  Do not stand on or use as a step ladder.  Do not sit on the arm rest.

. This chair is designed for seating one person at a time.

. Tighten all screws, knobs, bolts and parts firmly or otherwise do not use.

. EVERY MONTH (my emphasis), check all screws, knobs and bolts and firmly tighten any that have loosened.

. If any parts are missing, damaged, or worn, stop using immediately.  Repair the chair with manufacturer supplied parts only.  Replacement parts can be obtained by calling Customer Service.

Well, I’ve now slapped that DO NOT REMOVE sticker back on the underside of the chair, so I think we’re “legal” for now.

But I have to be honest, I’m guessing it won’t be too long before we’re “out of compliance” with these instructions.  I’m having trouble picturing us “checking all screws, knobs and bolts” every month!

Who knew that a cheap little office chair would have  so many instructions with it, and require maintenance checks about as often as a 747!

I think it’s obvious that a label that says “do not remove” but is falling off indicates a little bit of a quality control issue.  But, more importantly, I think the fact that a company finds it necessary to write the detailed instructions listed above for a simple little office chair, speaks clearly to the fact that we live in a litigious society where companies feel the need to list many common sense instructions on any product to avoid being sued.

If I’d wanted to own something this high maintenance, I could have got a dog — at least it would have met me at the door!


8 Responses to A cheap but high maintenance chair!

  1. lynn says:

    Funny, Sandra! I’m with you — I think you should get a dog. Because this chair sounds like waaaaaay too much trouble 🙂

  2. Sandra says:

    So true, Lynn! 🙂

  3. C. Beth says:

    That’s pretty funny! I think you should, however, use it as a football, since there is no warning against that. Then sue them when the football chair breaks your window.

  4. Sandra says:

    Oh, Beth. You should have been a lawyer, the way you can think in devious ways! 🙂

  5. carlahoag says:

    Reminds me of the warning that came with our lawn mower: do not use to trim hedges.

    Would someone really do that or are they trying to cover everything?

    Our society is getting weirder by the day.

  6. Sandra says:

    Carla — LOL! Don’t use the lawn mower to trim hedges?! What a great mental picture that draws! 🙂

  7. Katharine says:

    Sandra, we know you’ll be checking every screw and knob once a month. But how often are you supposed to make sure that tag is still attached? I think I might worry about this in the middle of the night. Please advise. Oh, and the BEST thing about dogs is when they meet you at the door!

  8. Sandra says:

    Katharine — I know — that tag seems really iffy. Now that you mention it, I’ll probably wake up in the middle of the night worrying about that too!

    Re. dogs, the meeting you at the door is just one of the many things that I (and I’m sure, you) love about dogs. I would have another one, but since our beloved Akela died three years ago, Hubby really doesn’t want another one. But, boy, do we have fond memories of the ones we HAVE had. 🙂

Leave a Reply

