An Easter Brunch Casserole!

 

To me, brunch is the easiest meal in the world to make for company.  An egg casserole, a pretty bowl of mixed fruit, some breads and/or pastries with coffee and orange juice (or add champagne and make them mimosa’s!), and you’re set.

So, I have a suggestion for an egg casserole that we really enjoy, just in case you’re looking for something a little different to make for Easter brunch!  

    This is a picture of this casserole made with ciabatta bread.  I made it for a brunch recently.  I don’t suggest getting “exotic” with the bread like this, because while I thought it would give it an “interesting” texture, what I ended up with was a very “fluffy” casserole.  I didn’t like it as well.  So, I suggest you just stick with using slices of regular sandwich bread.

Cheese and Shrimp Casserole

 6 slices of firm bread, crust removed

4 T. melted butter

1 C. grated Swiss cheese

2 chopped green onions

2 T. chopped parsley

½ lb. tiny cooked shrimp

3 eggs

½ t. salt

½ t. Dijon mustard

1 ½ C. milk

½ C. sour cream

 Cut each slice of bread diagonally.  Dip one side of each slice in melted butter.  Arrange half of the slices in an unbuttered 8” square dish.  Sprinkle with half of the cheese, onions, parsley and shrimp.  Repeat. 

Beat eggs, salt, mustard, milk and sour cream together.  Pour over top. 

Cover and refrigerate overnight.

Bake at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes or until puffed and golden. 

Let set for 10 minutes before serving. 

4 Responses to An Easter Brunch Casserole!

  1. C says:

    Ummmmmm. I do the sausage/cheese casserole for Christmas, but this with shrimp has a decidedly “spring” suggestion! I doubt I’ll do it Easter, but I’m thinking girlfriends on the back porch brunch! Thanks. C

  2. Sandra says:

    Great, C! What time shall I be there! 🙂

  3. C. Beth says:

    Yum! I bookmarked this one. Definitely an elegant take on a classic recipe.

  4. Sandra says:

    Beth — I hope you like it as much as we do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

