I’ve always loved a good curl!

 

Yes, I’ve always liked curling — but it was always my hair! 

But now I have learned a little more about the sport of curling, because I watched a match between Switzerland and Canada this afternoon.  It was actually fun to watch a game about which I know absolutely nothing (although it did remind me a little of bocce ball).  And to see a huge auditorium full of cheering people all very intent on the game, and all of them apparently knowing the rules!

The women who were playing it particularly impressed me that they were agile enough to get down close enough to the ice that it looked like their foot was attached to their chest, and they still looked graceful!

I found it surprisingly enjoyable.

I give credit to Suldog, a recently acquired blogging friend, for whetting my appetite for the game of curling when he talked about it on his blog last week.  The very interesting (and he’s always witty) post was entitled I’d Rather Be Curling and you can read it here

Suldog, I’ll tell you all about the game of Euchre sometime in repayment of the favor!  (And you don’t have to be nearly as agile for it as for curling!)

Content copyright protected.

6 Responses to I’ve always loved a good curl!

  1. C. Beth says:

    It seems like curling has been very popular this year–I keep seeing it mentioned online!

  2. Suldog says:

    Hey! Thanks for the link-love! And I’m so happy you’re enjoying the curling! Should be some excellent gold medal games!

  3. Suldog says:

    Oh, and Euchre. I’ve certainly heard it mentioned before – I think Twain brings it up in a few of his writings – but I don’t really know much about it. If you post about it, please do let me know! I’m always interested in learning about stuff other people find fun.

  4. Sandra says:

    Beth — Maybe it’s the coming thing. I guess I’d better learn the rules! 🙂

    Suldog — Mark Twain played Euchre?! I had no idea. I lived for my first 9 years in Missouri (which I consider Mark Twain territory) and never heard of it. But when we moved to northern Indiana, it is the most popular card game here.

    Then through business I got to know some truck salesmen in Canada around Ottawa and THEY were big into it! (In fact when I had to go up there on business, my husband went with me and they had a Euchre tournament in our honor. What a hoot!)

    So I guess there must be Euchre “pockets” here and there. 🙂

  5. Hilary says:

    I’ve heard so many people say that they’re getting into curling with these games. And I’m among them I never paid it any attention up until now but I’m finding myself truly enjoying and even looking forward to it. It’s over now of course.. so close we were. But silver is wonderful! And it was a great game.

  6. Sandra says:

    I agree, Hilary. A very interesting game!

Leave a Reply

