A Chimney Grows in Chicago!

 

Oops!  See update to this post, Sometimes you just see what you want to see!

   Not a great picture.  But then, it was taken from a speeding car (there is no option NOT to speed on the freeways in Chicago!) and then zoomed to the max so that I could show you what has become sort of a “landmark” for me when we drive through Chicago.  I first noticed this chimney about a year ago and have been trying to get a picture of it every since.

Do you see it?  The chimney in the middle of the picture?  I know you might think there is just a tree behind it, but that isn’t it!  Those are branches sticking out of the top of the chimney!

I can’t imagine (or I don’t want to imagine) a bird big enough to have hauled branches that big to the chimney to make a nest, so I wonder if it didn’t start out as just a regular bird’s nest and then, over the years, “went to seed” and has actually grown some branches of its own!  The only other scenario that I can think of is that it is on an abandoned house that has a tree growing up through its chimney!

However it happened, this unusual sight is one I always look for because it fascinates me.

Assuming it’s on an abandoned house right now, I hope that if it’s ever renovated and rented out the renovators think to clean out the chimney!  Otherwise, I can imagine a new tenant’s last words being, “I think I’ll try out the fireplace!”

10 Responses to A Chimney Grows in Chicago!

  1. Amy O says:

    That is very neat but at the same time disturbing to me. The new tenants someday will need a professional chimney sweep. Chim Chim mer ree…

  2. Cathy Norris says:

    do you mean the one that looks like a tree (behind the other chimney)is a chimney? If so, how do branches come out of the middle of a chimney? How can you tell it’s really a chimney?

  3. Sandra says:

    So true, Amy, so true! And he’d better bring a bulldozer instead of a broom! 🙂

    Cathy — I’m talking about the tallest chimney in the middle of the picture. It has branches sticking out of the top of it. The branches that look like they might be coming out of the middle are on a tree in the background. I know it’s hard to tell that from this picture, but I always look for this chimney when we are driving through Chicago (and can’t always find it, because it is quite a ways away from the freeway, which is also why the picture isn’t very clear — I had to enlarge it alot!) so I have caught sight of it from different angles at various times and can say without reservation it is a chimney and it does have sticks sticking out the top! (If I ever get a better picture, I will definitely publish it!) 🙂

  4. C. Beth says:

    Wow!! Now I want to know the story behind it!

  5. Suldog says:

    Just when you think you may have seen it all… Fascinating!

  6. Sandra says:

    Me too, Beth. Come up here right away and you and I will go find the house that belongs to that chimney and find out just what the heck the story is! 🙂

    Suldog — Obviously, I think so too! 😉

  7. Chrissy Witt says:

    That’s crazy!! Let’s find out more! lol

  8. Sandra says:

    Yeah, Tim and Chrissy wild AND crazy! See the next day’s post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

