A Clever Solution to a Veggie Aversion

 

I am a fan of Dr. John Rosemond who writes a syndicated advice column about raising children and I thought this story he recounted recently was great!

Four-year-old Rodney would not eat veggies.  They tasted bad and made him want to throw up, he said.

One day, his parents read a column of mine and got an idea.  They sat Rodney down and said, “Your doctor says if you don’t eat vegetables, you have to go to bed right after dinner.”  When he pressed for an explanation, they shrugged and told him they didn’t know.  “Doctors know lots of things,” they said.

Three early-bedtime days later, Rodney’s vegetable aversion had been cured.  His doctor is a genius!

When I first became a fan of Dr. Rosemond’s was when he wrote a column about the parent/child relationship that was a revelation to me (unfortunately, it was long after my child-rearing years).  He said something like, “If there aren’t times when your child  hates you, you aren’t doing something right.”  Oh how I wish someone had told me that when I was raising young children.  I was always concerned when my children were mad at me.  Apparently, that meant I was a good parent.  Who knew!

15 Responses to A Clever Solution to a Veggie Aversion

  1. Chrissy Witt says:

    soooo true! Hopefully, that part of being a parent changes as they become responsible adults!

  2. Sandra says:

    Chrissy — You do the best you can, and pray, pray, pray! Right? 🙂

  3. Hilary says:

    The younger one (19) still hates me sometimes.. but I can live with that. 😉

    Frozen veggies was the trick I kept up my sleeve. Both boys liked many veggies but occasionally I’d have a hard time convincing them to get their share. So snack time consisted of “frozen treats.” They ate them straight from the freezer.

  4. Julie says:

    Thanks for this post Aunt Sandy! It was very encouraging to me as I am raising my two preschoolers. This parenting thing is much more difficult and involved than I had ever imagined! But from what I hear, it’s all worth it! 😀
    Hope you had a great trip last week!

  5. Sandra says:

    Hilary — What a clever idea! I would never have thought to tell my kids florets of frozen broccoli were “treats”! You were one clever mama! 🙂

    Julie — One time when we were interviewed by a “human interest” reporter, she asked us what had been hardest about being married and we both answered in chorus, “Raising kids!” I truly do believe it is the hardest “job” I’ve ever done, but I wouldn’t have missed the expeience for the world. Hang in there, kid. As long as you’re doing the best you can (which I KNOW you are), you are a “perfect” parent. 🙂 Love, Aunt Sandy

  6. lesley says:

    Happy New Year Sandra,
    I love these little stories you tell. We’re soon to be grandparents for the first time, so I shall keep them at hand for further use hee hee x

  7. Sandra says:

    Congratulations, Lesley! You can’t possibly explain to someone how special grandchildren are — they just have to experience it for themselves. So I wish you many wonderful experiences with the new little one (and many more?). I have always referred to them as the “frosting on the cake”. At least that’s what they are to me. I’m very happy for you.

  8. Linda says:

    I think I’ve told you this before, Sandy, but maybe Lesley will enjoy it. I met someone recently who told me that having grandchildren makes you glad you didn’t kill your kids.

  9. Sandra says:

    Ha! No, Linda, you hadn’t told me that, but I like it. 🙂

  10. Vicki says:

    I like Dr. Rosemond also because he has commen sense! Yes, it’s OK if children don’t think the universe revolves around them! Wish I had known of him when I was raising my kids too! V.

  11. Sandra says:

    V — Remember? I think all we (or at least I) had was a thick book, tiny print, of how Dr. Spock thought we should do it!

  12. Tim King says:

    As my kids enter the teenage years, I’m learning that if you’re doing everything right, they’ll definitely get mad at you.

    -TimK

  13. Sandra says:

    Ooooo, good luck, Tim. Those teen years are the most “interesting”! I always said that at that stage you never knew if you were dealing with the “adult” or the “child” because they were both! And, of course, it made them mad if you guessed wrong and treated their adult like a child or vice versa!

  14. Mrs4444 says:

    This reminds me of the time Kyle (age about 5) yelled, “I HATE you!” at me, and I responded, “Yeah, well I don’t like you very much right now, either.” The look on his face was PRICELESS, and I will never forget it; he was so disappointed, haha. (Today, he remembers this, too!)

  15. Sandra says:

    I LOVE that, Barb! I wish I had been able to think of a snappy comeback like that when I was raising kids!

Leave a Reply

