How Deep The Father’s Love for Us

 

  At our Christmas Eve service last year.

In a recent service we sang How Deep The Father’s Love for Us, which included these words:

I will not boast in anything, no gifts, no power, no wisdom.

But I will boast in Jesus Christ, His death and resurrection.

Why should I gain from His reward?  I cannot give an answer.

But this I know with all my heart, His wounds have paid my ransom.

May we remember the reason for the season, and find comfort, peace and joy in it.

9 Responses to How Deep The Father’s Love for Us

  1. Linda says:

    A beautiful hymn with a profound message. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Sandra says:

    Linda — I was really touched by the way it was worded. It spoke to me.

  3. Julie says:

    I love hymns that speak deep truths so clearly! Praise the LORD for He is good!
    Thanks for sharing the words to that hymn.

  4. C says:

    You know, Sandra, I read these hymn words and take so much solace in my time of trouble, seeing that others have EXPERIENCED the love of the Father and the awe of Jesus’ sacrifice for us. I think too this morning of , “That Christ has regarded my helpless estate, And hath shed His own blood for my soul” or from Blessed Assurance, the song calling us “heir of salvation, purchase of God…”

    I could go on, but won’t turn this into a post! I have again hit a rocky patch in my already-rocky life–and right at Christmas! Thank you for publishing this and giving me a little much-needed perspective. I have much to happily boast about–that Christ came for me. Love, C.

  5. Sandra says:

    Julie — Isn’t it interesting how what we already know can be said in a little different way and suddenly we are struck by the “knowingness” all over again!

    C — I wish I was there to put my arms around you and offer comfort in your hard time, friend. But know that you are in my prayers. I am so glad we’ve met so that when I pray for you I can see your face. How DO people survive hard times without God? Luckily, we will never have to find out. Love, Sandra

  6. C. Beth says:

    I think it’s neat at a Christmas service to include a song about Jesus’ death and resurrection. There is a song we’ve heard that includes the line “He’s not a baby in a manger anymore.” Honestly, the song totally bugs me and it’s annoying. 🙂 BUT it’s a great message–it’s wonderful to celebrate His birth, but the only reason His birth is so important is because of who He revealed Himself to be in his ministry, death, & resurrection!

  7. carlahoag says:

    Absolutely!

    This year I’m trying to make a conscious effort to set my heart and mind on Him. It’s a struggle because my mind wanders and the world pulls.

    But He is the only Rock, the true Fortress and Lover of our souls.

  8. Sandra says:

    Beautifully said, Carla. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

