Easy Joe . . . sloppy but delicious!

Who doesn’t love sloppy joe?

At the Weightwatcher meeting a couple weeks ago, a woman told about her favorite sloppy joe recipe.  I tried it this week and we love it, so, of course, I’m going to share it with you.

Naturally I made it with ground turkey.  If you haven’t tried substituting it for ground beef, I hope you will.  We absolutely can’t tell any difference and it does make a difference in calories and fat.

I’ve decided to call it . . .

Easy Joe

Brown one 20 oz. package of ground turkey with some chopped onion and green pepper.

Then add one cup of ketchup and one can of Diet Coke.  That’s it.

It will be very soupy at first, so simmer it until it thickens up enough to put it on a bun (about 30 minutes).  Voila’!

How easy is that?

Here’s the “skinny” on the WW points for a great, but diet friendly sandwich (in order of assembly):

– one Arnold’s Sandwich Thin bun = 1 WW point

– one slice American Cheese = 1 WW point

– 2/3 C. Easy Joe = 4 WW points   (These points are figured on the recipe making six sandwiches.)

– dill pickle slices = zero WW points

Put the top on the bun and it’s ready to eat — probably with a fork.  Just too sloppy to pick up.  And only a  total of 6 WW points for a delicious, filling sandwich.

Note:  I’m trying to think of what could be added to this if you wanted it to be a little less “sloppy” but not add calories.  Maybe a half cup of finely chopped cabbage and/or carrots?  If they were added at the start, I think they would blend in during the simmering and wouldn’t change the flavor.  I’ll try that next time.

By the way, 20 Ruffle’s light chips = 1 point, to go with your sandwich.

6 Responses to Easy Joe . . . sloppy but delicious!

  1. carlahoag says:

    My jaw dropped when I saw the Diet Coke listed.

    Then I remembered a bar-b-que recipe that was going around about 20 years ago: 1 bottle Heinz Chili Sauce and 1 jar grape jelly, add Little Smokies and put it all in the crock pot. Well, I thought: that’s gross, I’ll never do that. Then we were at a party and I was eating away at the Little Smokies and someone told me that it was THAT recipe. It was really good.

  2. Sandra says:

    I know, Carla. I was amazed that this used Diet Coke too. And, I too remember the BBQ sauce with grape jelly in it. In fact, when we discussed these sloppy joes in WW this morning another member said they had just found a recipe that uses the same combo of ketchup/Diet Coke on chicken, and the leader said actually this recipe for BBQ sauce is an old WW recipe that has been around for about 20 years ago. I guess recipes just keep circling the Earth and eventually come back to you! 🙂

  3. C. Beth says:

    It’s really a pleasure to be playing catch-up on your blog tonight! Thanks for the smiles, even when it’s a recipe post. 🙂

  4. Sandra says:

    Beth — If you like sloppy joe you might want to try this. Hubby swears it’s the best he’s ever had. And I DID add a half cup of finely diced carrots the second time I made it and that DID make it less soupy, and didn’t hurt the flavor at all. When you say this made you smile, I’m guessing it’s at my nod to a “Hubby portion” of chips. He may be dieting, but he still likes his chips! 🙂

  5. […] Easy Joe . . . sloppy but delicious! « Add Humor and Faith….mix well […]

  6. Sam says:

    Found your blog on Bing and was so glad i did. That was a great read. I have a small question.Is it OK if i send you an email???…

Leave a Reply

