A gift it’s important to give . . .

 

. . . to yourself.  Happiness.

The elderly lady, who is fully dressed each morning by eight o’clock and always neat as a pin even though she is legally blind, moved to a nursing home today.  Her beloved husband recently passed away, making the move necessary. 

After waiting patiently in the lobby, she smiled sweetly when a young man from the staff came to get her and said her room was ready.

As she maneuvered her walker to the elevator, he started describing what her room would be like.  Before he could even finish his description, she patted his  arm and said, “I love it.” 

“Oh, Mrs. Jones, I hope that will be the case, after you’re settled in.”

She smiled and said, “That doesn’t have anything to do with it. Happiness is something you decide on ahead of time.  Whether I like my room or not doesn’t depend on how the furniture is arranged — it’s how I arrange my mind.  I have already decided to love it.” 

Happiness is a decision.  May we all learn to make that decision as a gift to ourselves whenever possible.

May your Sunday be blessed and happy!

6 Responses to A gift it’s important to give . . .

  1. Donna says:

    WOW! you have no idea how much I needed that at this very moment. Thanks! Our Lord does work in mysterious ways.

  2. Sandra says:

    Oh, Donna, I am thrilled if God gave me something to say that was meant for you to hear! I’m humbled.

  3. Julie says:

    Love this post! It is so wise to choose to be happy especially in difficult circumstances, to readjust your attitude regardless of your surroundings. Thanks for posting this!

  4. Sandra says:

    Julie — I know you and Jon can especially relate to this. Hope all is going well. I WILL be sending your book soon! Love, Aunt Sandy

  5. C. Beth says:

    That’s a great story and a great lesson!

  6. Sandra says:

    I thought so too, Beth. A lesson we all need to remember.

Leave a Reply

