“Today I am a man.”

 

   The three wrestlers about a year ago.  Jay is about 5 inches taller now.

Because we’ve been married 44 years, there aren’t too many things I don’t know about Hubby.  So, it was interesting  last week to be on the phone with him and Gunny and listen to them talking about their wrestling experiences in high school, sparked by the fact that Jay, Gunny’s son and our only grandson, has just started wrestling as a freshman (on varsity! — the proud Nana said).

Gunny said that he remembered his first “pin” (win).  It was a guy who had beaten him the first time they competed.  He said achieving that “first” was almost as much fun as seeing the shocked look on the other kid’s face that Gunny had beaten him this time.

Hubby surprised me when he said he remembered that first win for Gunny too.  Gosh, I think I went to most of Gunny’s wrestling matches, but I honestly don’t remember much about them.  But, I guess it’s okay because apparently Hubby remembers Gunny’s wrestling experience much better than I do.  Probably because I never wrestled!

Then Hubby told us about his first win in wrestling, which I don’t remember ever hearing before.  He said that when he walked back to the team bench, apparently he must have looked pretty proud of himself because the coach smiled at him and said “Today, I am a man.”  A funny but nice tease about his obvious pride but also an acknowledgement of his achievement.  

And now last night Jay called to tell us that he had had his first “pin”!  A milestone in his life that he wanted to share with both of us, but especially Grandpa.

“Today, I am a man.”

4 Responses to “Today I am a man.”

  1. carlahoag says:

    We’ve only been married 36 years (compared to your 44), but I know the feeling I have when Joe tells a story that I’ve never heard. It’s really interesting, like discovering another book by a favorite author when I thought I had read them all.

    Congratulations to Jay! It’s great that these 3 men share a intergenerational interest.

  2. Sandra says:

    Carla — What a wonderful way to put it “like discovering another book by a favorite author when I thought I had read them all”. That says it perfectly! Thank you, friend.

  3. lynn says:

    Very sweet. My husband and boys both wrestled, too. It was a great experience for them. I wrote an article about being the mom of a wrestler a few years back that appeared in Christian Parenting Today. Here’s the link, if you’re interested. As a mom and grandma of wrestlers, you might be able to relate 🙂 http://www.christianitytoday.com/momsense/2000/marapr/7.42.html

  4. Sandra says:

    Lynn — I LOVED your article! Hubby and I both laughed out loud a couple times! I’m going to forward it to our son. I think, even though you’re talking about wrestling at a much younger age, I still think they would enjoy it. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

