A Winner and a Funny Moment

 

First of all, I have written the names of all the commenters on my Sarah Palin post on little scraps of paper and then have drawn one, and the winner is . . . Julie!  Your signed copy of Sarah Palin’s book will be on its way to you soon, Julie. 

Thanks to all of you who commented.  I’m just sorry I don’t have enough signed copies to send one to each of you!

And, now, for the funny moment.

Last night we went to a Christmas party for all the people, and their spouses, who are in elected positions in our church (and also the pastors, and the teachers from our school).  There were over 80 people there.  Luckily it was at the huge home of a local artist/interior decorator.  No surprise, it was decorated beautifully.

Anyway, I had taken two kinds of cake balls in addition to chocolate peanut clusters and cranberry orange fudge on one of my favorite Christmas plates as our contribution.  But, we wanted to come home fairly early, and I wanted to leave what was left of what I had brought because people were still eating. 

So, I took one of the plastic disposable plates that had been supplied to eat on and began transferring what was left of what I had brought, to it.

But as I was transferring the pieces one by one onto the plastic plate, I realized a woman I only know slightly was standing at my elbow watching.  So, I asked her if she was waiting for one of these.  She said, “No, I’m just watching you.”  So, I turned back and continued what I was doing.  But then I suddenly realized how this must look to her.  She had no idea what I had brought!  So she didn’t know I was clearing my Christmas plate so that I could take it home.  It must look to her like I was taking piece after piece of that rich candy to go sit down and eat.

I laughed and turned around to her again and said, “Oh, I’m not going to eat these.  I’m just removing them from my serving plate so that I can take it home!” 

Apparently I was right about what her perception was of what I was doing because she replied, “Thank goodness.  I was really worried about you eating all that candy!”

She was relieved that she was wrong and I was tickled at what a glutton I must have appeared to her!

Happy Saturday.  May any misconceptions people might form of you today be this easily clarified!

7 Responses to A Winner and a Funny Moment

  1. carlahoag says:

    Literally laughed out loud. Very funny.

  2. And now I’m trying to imagine you eating that much candy! I can usually only manage a couple of mouthfuls of anything sweet!

  3. Sandra says:

    Good, Carla. That’s exactly the response I love to get! 🙂

    Wellll, Rachel. I can certainly handle more than a couple of mouthfuls, but I do think I would have made myself sick if I had eaten as much candy as it looked to her like I planned to! 🙂

  4. C says:

    Well, this is so funny–and sobering! A word of warning about jumping to conclusions!! C

  5. Julie says:

    That post was too funny Aunt Sandy!
    Thank you so much for the autographed Sarah Palin book! I’m so excited to have won it! Thank you, thank you, thank you!
    Sorry I wasn’t able to meet up with you over Thanksgiving…. the time got away from us going to and from each of our family events! We will probably be in town over the summer sometime. I will make a point to stop by and see you and Uncle ‘Hubby!’
    Thanks again so much for the book!

  6. Sandra says:

    C — So true. It really is a reminder that things are sometimes very different than they appear.

    Julie — I can’t think of anyone I’d rather give the book to, so I was delighted when it was your name I picked out of the pile. (I even closed my eyes when I drew, to make it TRULY random.) Love, Aunt Sandy

  7. Hilary says:

    I wonder if the minute your back was turned, she picked up the plate with the transferred goodies and took them back to munch for herself. 😉

    Congrats to Julie! 🙂

Leave a Reply

