Turkey in the Cabbage Patch Soup

 

 

Years ago, my friend Linda gave me a recipe for soup that she she said was really good.

A week or so later she asked me if I’d had a chance to try her recipe.  I said I did, but we weren’t really crazy about it.  She was amazed and puzzled that we didn’t like her wonderful soup … until I mentioned all the little ways I had changed the recipe as I made it.  Then she was incredulous — for two reasons.  First, because not too long before that I had told her that I thought really good cooks followed a recipe exactly (she reminded me of this part of the story when we had lunch yesterday)!  And, secondly, she had given me the exact recipe for a great soup.  Why would I change it?  I don’t remember what my answer was but I think the changes mainly had to do with what I had on hand versus what was called for, but Linda still enjoys reminding me once in a while about the time I used her recipe, but really didn’t because I made so many changes to it!

Well, I still have the habit of “adjusting” a recipe, but I do it for different reasons now.  I’m no longer a harried working wife and mother making do with the ingredients in the pantry, but I do like to change things to make them as calorie-friendly as possible.

So yesterday I was looking through my soup recipes and came across a cabbage soup that sounded really good and I decided to make it.  But, naturally,  I did make a few changes — I used turkey instead of ground beef and my favorite Bertolli Tomato & Basil Sauce instead of the diced tomatoes and, of course, I added my three “secret” ingredients that I put in every soup — chicken broth, olive oil and hot sauce.

It was wonderful!  We’ve discovered a new favorite and I’ve named my version …

Turkey in the Cabbage Patch Soup

Ingredients:

20 oz. pkg. ground turkey breast

1 large onion, chopped

4 ribs celery, chopped

1 green pepper, chopped

5 C. finely chopped cabbage

2 15-oz. cans kidney beans, drained

1 can chicken broth, 99% fat free

1 24-oz. jar Bertolli Tomato & Basil Sauce

46 oz. bottle V-8 vegetable juice

a quart (4 cups) water

2 T. olive oil

1 T. Frank’s hot sauce

2 t. oregano

2 t. sugar

2 t. salt

2 t. pepper

Brown ground turkey and onion together in an 8 qt. pot.  Add rest of ingredients and bring to boil.  Reduce heat to low or simmer and cook uncovered for 1 to 1 ½ hours, stirring occasionally.

This is approximately 20, 1 cup servings.  Each cup is 2 Weightwatcher points.

I hope you enjoy my version of this soup, and feel free to change it annnnny way you want, because I know what a temptation that is!

And, by the way, the old soup recipe I found and based this recipe on?  It was the one that Linda had given me all those years ago.  Thank you, Linda for your long-ago recipe that inspired this one for me.  You are a good and understanding friend, even when I change your recipes.

3 Responses to Turkey in the Cabbage Patch Soup

  1. Linda says:

    I have to admit that your version of this recipe does sound interesting. I may just try it myself, without making too many adjustments. We like to add white pepper to soups, to give them a bit of a bite without stomach upset. We learned that little trick from a favorite Chinese restaurant. Doug was curious as to why he could eat that spicy soup without having his stomach object to it. The owner said that white pepper is the spice that makes the hot and sour soup “hot.”

  2. Sandra says:

    Linda — That is very interesting about white pepper. I really thought the only reason you would use white pepper was if you didn’t want it to show, like in a white sauce! I’ll keep that in mind.

  3. lynn says:

    Mmmm, sounds tasty, and waist-friendly, too. The best combination 🙂

Leave a Reply

