It’s Christmas Letter Time! Part II

 

Continuing the theme of Christmas letters I began yesterday, here is a follow-up post I wrote in 2008, also about Christmas letters.

It’s time to write your annual Christmas letter, and I have some thoughts about that.

By far, the most popular post I have ever written is this one (it’s the one I re-printed yesterday) that I wrote last year about whether to write a Christmas Letter.  That tells me it is a subject many people are interested in and looking for suggestions about.

So, this year, continuing on that theme, I’d like to tell you how I think you can make a Christmas letter the most interesting it can be.  And that, in my opinion, is with pictures.  As possible proof of my theory, I will tell you that since I have started including pictures in the posts on my blog, my readership has almost doubled.  I don’t for a minute believe that is because I have suddenly become a much better writer.  I believe it is because people are just more interested in reading something that includes pictures.

For the last few years, the wife of one of my nephews has been writing the most interesting Christmas Letter we receive — because she inserts pictures all the way through it.  Since she started adding pictures, I have not only been terribly impressed that she was computer-saavy enough to be capable of doing that, but it has been the Christmas letter that I look forward to the most!

In 1992 when both of our children were young adults, Gunny a young Marine and DD in graduate school, they happened to both be home at the same time in the fall so I arranged for a formal portrait to be taken of them.  And, I liked it so well that I had the picture made into Christmas cards and enclosed them with our Christmas letter that year.

Here’s the picture.  I still love it.  I think it is the best picture we have ever had of the two of them.

jens-and-steve-as-adults

Now, this year, Hubby and I had a new portrait taken a few months ago, because our church is producing a new pictorial directory, as they do every few years.  And this time, the photographer offered us a new twist.  Would we like Christmas cards with our picture on them?  Well, I thought the picture was pretty good, so I talked Hubby into it, and we ordered them.

our-2008-picture-christmas-card-001

But, once we actually received the cards, I had some second thoughts.  Would it look “dumb” to send a Christmas card with our picture on it?  Did “older” adults ever do that?  I didn’t remember ever seeing one.  I debated it with myself (because, frankly, Hubby didn’t care one way or the other), and I just couldn’t decide.

But about a month ago, I got some help deciding.  As I was looking through a box of old photos, I came across the following card from the 1950’s.  It is a Christmas Card with a picture of Hubby’s (his mom’s mother and father) grandma and grandpa on it.

 grandma-and-grandpa-meyer2

That settled it for me.  If it was okay for Grandma and Grandpa to do it then, I guess it’s okay for us to do it now!

So, if you are on our Christmas card list, now you know.  You will be receiving a “wonderful” picture of us, along with our Christmas letter.  Feel free to have it professionally framed and hang it over your fireplace (next to your black velvet Elvis painting?).  Or, we’ll probably have some extras, so if you have a bathroom you want to wallpaper, just ask and we can send you more!

Bottom line: I believe any kind of picture you include in your Christmas letter will be appreciated and will make it more interesting. 

Now, start typing — time’s a-wasting!  And, be thinking about what picture you can add!

3 Responses to It’s Christmas Letter Time! Part II

  1. Hilary says:

    Gee, Sandra. Photos with blog posts.. what a great idea! 😉

    I was a happy recipient of your lovely Christmas photo last year along with a gorgeous hanging tea towel which I proudly won, and enjoy daily. You’re always full of clever and creative ideas.

  2. Marie says:

    Sandy, I am looking forward to the picture(no pressure to be on your Christmas card list). What a nice idea. Usually the only pictures we get are of the children. I could tell you we have a perfect spot since the hubby just saw a mouse in the garage, but I would be kidding. I love your blog. Keep up the good work.

  3. Sandra says:

    Hilary — I remember the towel I made for you — I’m so glad it hasn’t fallen apart yet. You must be very gentle with it. 🙂

    Marie — I’m boxing up the extra cards for mouse deterent right now and will ship them to you ASAP. Hopefully, they’ll do the trick for you. 🙂 (Congratulations on leaving a comment for the first time!)

Leave a Reply

