If you really want to punish the Fort Hood murderer

 

. . . maybe he shouldn’t be given the death penalty.

I remember seeing a poster years ago that just had a picture of a teenage boy in a wheelchair.  The caption read, “Sometimes suicide doesn’t work.”

I thought that was such a compelling effort to deter teenagers from thoughts of suicide.  While they might be thinking death would be easier to face that whatever “insurmountable” (in their young minds) problems they were facing, the thought of having to live their lives with those problems plus being disabled might be a compelling deterent.

A man who belonged to the church I attended in my growing-up years, had a bullet lodged in his brain from a failed teenage suicide attempt.  He was a brilliant engineer, so obviously, the attempt didn’t hinder his thought processes, but he always had fragile health with many health problems related to the lodged bullet.

I now hear that the Fort Hood coward is paralyzed from the waist down.  And that makes me wonder if him having to live as a paraplegic (in prison without possibility of parole, of course) who also would have to suffer the disdain of everyone who dealt with him and knew what he had done, wouldn’t be a more appropriate punishment than the death penalty.

6 Responses to If you really want to punish the Fort Hood murderer

  1. Simply Donna says:

    I agree with you. I can’t imagine being paralyzed and living in prison for the rest of my life and dealing everyday with what I had done. Seems like appropriate punishment to me.

  2. Sandra says:

    Donna — I was all for him getting the death penalty, until I heard about his injuries, then this idea occurred to me, and it just seemed like a a better punishment to let him live! (Boy, that sounds cold blooded, but I can get that way when someone does something as horrific as this against innocent people.)

  3. C says:

    I’m with you Sandra. The whole thing is sobering. It “feels” like there is something ominous out there looming…what is going on? C

  4. Sandra says:

    C — I agree. It’s in times like these that I’m especially glad I know that God is ultimately in control!

  5. Hilary says:

    I’m not sure he’s worth the time, effort and attention required to humanely care for a person in that condition.

  6. Sandra says:

    You’re right Hilary. But I vacillate back and forth between wanting him to suffer and die a horrible death, and the Christian side of me that would like to see him have time to repent for his actions and get right with God before he dies.

Leave a Reply

