Mama Remembered: Jimmy’s Speeding Fine

 

  Brother Jimmy at 18   My brother Jimmy at 18.

Brother Jimmy and his car 3   and with his “speedy” car.

~~~~~

An excerpt from Mama’s book I remember:

Our son Jimmy had a Model A Ford that he drove back and forth to school when he was a freshman at Southwest Missouri State.  We lived on the north side of town and SMS was way out south.

One morning when I was looking at the newspaper, I glanced through the list of traffic violations and there was his name, followed by ” $5 – for speeding”.

I waited a day or so to see if he would mention it.  He didn’t.  So I said, “I see you were fined for speeding the other morning.”

He looked at me, disgusted like, and said, “You don’t missing anything, do you?”

~~~~~

I enjoy this story Mama wrote because, even though I was only six or seven at the time, I remember riding in that car when my brother Jimmy owned it because I was fascinated by the fact that there was a hole in the floorboards so that the passenger could look down and see the street through the hole.  That must have been quite the conversation starter on a date!

The year would have been 1952 and, even though I’m not car-saavy enough to be able to tell what year that car was, I’m pretty sure it was o.l.d .  (Update:  Hubby has since told me he thinks it is a 1937.)  So, I’m kind of impressed it was able to go fast enough to deserve a ticket.  Maybe the air flow through the hole in the floor made it more aero-dynamic!

5 Responses to Mama Remembered: Jimmy’s Speeding Fine

  1. Chrissy Witt says:

    cool speedy car!! Wow, $5! cute!

  2. Sandra says:

    Thanks, Chrissy. 🙂

  3. Hilary says:

    Fun story and nice photos of your handsome brother. Back then, the speed limits were probably painfully slow by our standards too, so Jimmy most likely wasn’t driving all that fast.. but still. 🙂

  4. Sandra says:

    Hilary — I have no idea what they were in town, but I do remember that the speed limits were really high when we would take vacations on highways — like 75 or 80 mph, and my father drove that and more! We “zipped” across the counry back then. But, Daddy always had a new-ish car, so Jimmy’s old Ford probably didn’t go that fast, even if it was allowed. I e-mailed him and told him I had posted this. I hope he gets a kick out of it too.

Leave a Reply

