My Father, My Mountain Guide

 

It has been my experience that faith gets easier as I get older.

 Since I am a visual person, I can picture traveling through life as traveling up a winding road on a densely wooded mountain. 

When I was young and at the bottom looking up, I could only see a little of the curvy road ahead and I had lots of anxiety and concern because I couldn’t see what was coming and this was an unfamiliar road.  And, even though I would ask for God’s help, it was hard to recognize how His hand was in the outcome of events. 

But now that I’m older and closer to the top, it’s as if there are look-out points where I can look back and see the twists and turns in the road I’ve traveled.  And from this perspective it is so apparent how God guided, corrected and saved me on that road again and again.  In fact, I believe that sometimes when He not only answered a prayer but answered it in a far better or different way than I would have even thought to pray for, He was clearly demonstrating to me that it was Him, not me, who made that decision or solved that problem.

I still can’t see what awaits me beyond the next curve, but I’ve come to realize that whatever it is, I don’t have to worry because He is already there, waiting for me, ready to help me deal with whatever comes next.

May you be able to recognize God working in your life and may your faith be strengthened when you see the pattern of His loving guidance.

9 Responses to My Father, My Mountain Guide

  1. Linda says:

    Well said, Sandy. I’m a little nearer the top of that hill than you are, and let me just say that the view ahead is stunning!

  2. Sandra says:

    Thanks, Linda. I love hearing from you “old folks”! 🙂

  3. cbethblog says:

    Wow, this is a great image and makes me look forward to being older. 🙂

  4. Sandra says:

    Welll, Beth, of course, that IS my whole goal with this blog — to make all of you young people just WISH you were as old as ME!! 🙂

    I do have to say that this is one of the great pluses of age.

  5. Julie says:

    Just wanted to say I appreciated this post today, Aunt Sandy! The older I get, 😀 the more I look for God’s Hand in my circumstances and what He wants to teach me though it. He is good all the time, even when it appears that He is not!
    Hope you have a great week!

  6. Sandra says:

    Hi, Julie!

    I’m sure, with all you and Jon have been through recently that you have lots of opportunities to see God’s hand in your lives. Best to you both. Love, Aunt Sandy

  7. chourou says:

    Hi,Sandy.Long time no see.
    Good posting.That must be the way that the world’s goin’ around. You are the one who can make such a neat statement like that.

    I renewed my site after the long absence. Although the article may be rather boring, the photos uploaded can be something enjoyable for you a bit. I’d love your stopping by.

  8. donna says:

    Thanks for this post. We do have an awesome God!

  9. Sandra says:

    Hi, Chourou — It’s nice to hear from you! I’ll be sure to come to your site and look at your new additions!

    Donna — Amen.

Leave a Reply

