Stop Eating … We’re Going to Talk Septic!

 

Our farmhouse that we lived in for 20 years had been built in the 1870’s by Hubby’s great-grandfather, Valentine.

Of course, the septic system wasn’t that old when we moved there, but it was old!  So, it was inevitable that we would have problems with it from time to time. 

The first time we had a problem (and I won’t go into detail … don’t bother to thank me), we looked in the phone book for a company that dealt with such things.  And we found one whose name inspired confidence in us … Golden Rule Septic Company. 

We called and asked them to come out ASAP (because when your septic system isn’t working, it is realllly important to get it working again fast!), and that was the beginning of a long, happy relationship between us and the father and son who were Golden Rule.

The first time they came out, we were a little surprised that they were black.  I don’t know why, but it just seemed to us, since septic systems are predominantly in rural areas, and most of the rural people in this area are white, that the people who would be experts at dealing with that rural system would be white too.  But, let me tell you, I don’t know where Dad and Son lived, but they did know “septic”!  Every time they came to our rescue, they found the problem, fixed it, were pleasant but professional while they were there, and always charged us a fair price.

Twice we had to call them on holidays.  That shouldn’t surprise any of us, because, after all, isn’t that the way things usually work?  If something is going to break, it will be on a weekend or holiday!

I especially remember the time the system stopped working on Christmas Day, just hours before Hubby’s large extended family would converge on our house for Christmas dinner!

I called Golden Rule hoping, but doubting, that even they would be willing to come out on Christmas Day.  Well, I shouldn’t have doubted.  They came to our house immediately, worked quickly and efficiently to find the problem and fix it (which always required digging out in the yard where the septic tank was — not an easy job even in warm weather, but cold, hard work in December!) and then were even reluctant to take the tip we wanted to give them because we so appreciated them coming out on Christmas day.

When we moved to this house six years ago, one of the great things we really appreciated, and still do, is city water and sewers.  But, there is one downside … we no longer have a reason to deal with Dad and Son at Golden Rule Septic Company.

The Golden Rule:  Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.  Luke 6:31

The great father and son team who named their company “Golden Rule” didn’t just say it, they lived it!

9 Responses to Stop Eating … We’re Going to Talk Septic!

  1. Cheryl says:

    We used them at our farm house as well. And yes they were ALWAYS very respectful folks. Their company name was a perfect pick because I really believe they live by it.
    Great post, as usual I enjoyed it!!!!

  2. Sandra says:

    Okay, Cheryl. Is this what it takes? I have to write about our shared love of a waste removal firm in order to inspire you to comment?!

    Thanks for being a faithful reader, friend. And even commenting sometimes! 🙂

  3. Hilary says:

    I love the way you promote the folks who make you happy. You’ve done this before and it always makes me think about how the subject of your post would feel good to read your words. It makes me want to do research! 😉 If these are your potty people, why not send them a link to your blog? http://www.goldenrulesewer.com/contact.nxg

    You always have such kind things to say, Sandra. And despite the topic of your post, I’m not talking $h!t. 😉

  4. Sandra says:

    Hilary — What a wonderful idea! And leave it to you to “do the research” and provide the link. Just another way that you add to my life, friend — as my researcher! 🙂 I’ll do it!

  5. Margo says:

    Sandra, I think yours is the only blog where I would keep reading after this kind of warning: “Stop Eating … We’re Going to Talk Septic!”
    This would signal a rant on most blogs, but your approach to this topic is gentle and grateful, with a touch of humor. Thanks for being a good example to me.

  6. Sandra says:

    Margo! Thank you so much for this comment. I am so touched that you trust me to not tell you more than you might want to know about septic!

    And, I really appreciate that you have become a regular reader and commenter! 🙂

  7. C. Beth says:

    The firm my hubby works for designs water and wastewater treatment plants. My hubby prefers working on the wastewater side because it’s more complicated and interesting than plain ol’ water treatment! They have a saying in that business, “It may be poop to you but it’s bread and butter to me.” (I hope everyone reading this obeyed you and waited until breakfast was over!)

  8. Sandra says:

    Beth — This is for real — I saw a van in traffic in Chicago one time that had a drawing on its side of a slice of bread with something resembling peanut butter smeared on it, with flies flying around it. Below the drawing it said, “Your s_ _ _ is our bread and butter!” and the name of the plumbing company. I didn’t know whether to laugh or gag!

  9. Barb says:

    When we have that little ‘septic’ problem, there is only one company we call, and that is Golden Rule. They are the nicest family, and their employees are all very nice, also.

    Unfortunately, I believe that the father passed away this year.

Leave a Reply

