Cooking Chicken Little!

 

Can you stand one more recipe?  I hope so, because I’m really excited about this one!

This recipe in its original form was called Chicken and Broccoli Casserole, but, because I liked it so much but hardly ever made it because it wasn’t very calorie-friendly, I “re-worked” it, and then served it last night to guests.  And we all loved  it!  You would never guess that it had been “lightened”. 

So because I did my own version, I decided to give it a name that would differentiate it from the original.  I decided to call it Chicken Little … because its calorie count is “little(r)” than the original and, hopefully, it will help me be “little(r)” too!

Here it is …  Chicken Little

     P1020610(2x)(1)

Ingredients:

1 package of Steam Fresh Broccoli Florets, cooked and cut in small pieces (I had about 3/4 cup of broccoli left over from dinner the night before which I added too)

1/4 C. Egg Beaters

3 C. cooked chicken, cut in small pieces (I used some grilled the night before with lemon pepper seasoning on it)

8 oz. Neufchatel Cream Cheese, room temperature

1 can  98% fat-free Cream of Mushroom Soup

1 C. 1% low-fat milk

1 stick  light butter

14 oz. can 99% fat-free chicken broth

5 oz. box of whole wheat chicken stuffing mix + bread crumbs made from 1 heel of whole wheat bread

Instructions:

Mix broccoli w/Egg Beaters and spread over bottom of 9×13 greased dish. 

Top with chopped cooked chicken. 

Mix cream cheese, soup and milk.  Pour over. 

Melt butter and mix with broth, stuffing mix and the extra bread crumbs.  Spread over top. 

Bake uncovered at 350 degree for 50 minutes.

P1020616(1)  This is, I think, a very generous serving (1/12th of a 9×13 dish) that is only 5 WW points.

I served it with Oriental salad and a fresh fruit compote.  Everyone loved it.  I hope you do too!

10 Responses to Cooking Chicken Little!

  1. C. Beth says:

    That looks delicious, Sandra! I’m looking forward to trying it! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  2. Sandra says:

    Beth — I hope you try it and like it too. And, even more, I hope The Engineer, Chickie and Zoodle like it! 🙂

  3. C says:

    Looks delish. I was supposed to start a diet program with my sister-in-law yesterday. We both need to lose weight, and she wants to accountability of a buddy…I’m afraid I failed miserably! BAck to it today, though! Thanks for this recipe. C

  4. Sandra says:

    C — I have to laugh sometimes that I have finally, after many years of “playing” at it, become a TRUE weight watcher. I have actually started reading labels in the grocery when making choices. For instance, I was going to use light margarine in this, but Hubby is totally against margerine (he calls it plastic), so I was delighted when I read the label on the light butter compared to the light margarine and found out that the butter was actually fewer calories!

  5. Hilary says:

    Fine! Make me drool at just after 7 AM. It’s not pretty! But that meal does sound delicious. 🙂

  6. Vicki says:

    This looks so delicious! What brand is the whole wheat stuffing mix? I don’t think I’ve ever seen it.

  7. Sandra says:

    It really was good, Vicki. We finally finished up the leftovers last night — it was just as good when we warmed it up, a portion at a time, in the microwave.

    The stuffing is Stove Top, and I had had it in the pantry for a while, so I can only assume it’s still available, but I’ll have to check the next time I go to the grocery.

  8. C. Beth says:

    Sandra–We had this tonight! I’ll admit mine was not as LIGHT as yours because I keep real eggs, real butter, and whole milk :-O in the fridge 🙂 but it was SO good! The Engineer loved it and so did I. Thanks!!

  9. Sandra says:

    Beth — I’m so glad you liked it! The way you made it is, of course, the way it was originally made and it was one of our favorites for many years just like that. But, now that I’m trying to lighten everything up I can, I was delighted when the light version of this was still a crowd pleaser!

    I passed the recipe out at my WW meeting about a month ago, and at every meeting since, one or two people have made a point to tell me that they made it and really liked it! That “tickles me pink”!

  10. […] I had developed some light recipes that I thought her readers might like and gave her examples like Chicken Little, the To-Die(t) for Chocolate/Raspberry Cake and Divine Peanut Butter Cookies .  She said she […]

Leave a Reply

