Got Rhubarb?

 

P1010814(2) 

I guess you either love rhubarb or hate it.  It was an acquired taste for me as an adult but now I love it, and, to me, it is another “sign of spring”. 

At the farm, we had a row of rhubarb all along one side of the barn, and each spring I would make at least one dessert out of it, and various friends and family would come over and use some of it too.  And, let’s face it, I got so I took it for granted.  But now that we have moved away from it, I have missed the rhubarb.  Yes, I could buy some at the store, but it’s really hard to pay for it when it was free for so many years!

So, I was delighted when, a couple weeks ago, one of Hubby’s golfing buddies gave him some rhubarb.  I immediately remembered the following recipe that I had cut out of the newspaper and decided to try it. 

 I was intrigued by this recipe because you sprinkle the rhubarb with soda to cut the tartness in order to use less sugar.  We liked it, so I thought I would share it here.

Lower-Sugar Rhubarb Cobbler  (6 servings, 4 WW points)

 P1010775

1 ½  lbs. rhubarb, cut in ½ in. pieces

1/8 t. baking soda

1 C. flour

¾ C. sugar, divided

1 T. + 1 t. butter, softened

2 t. baking powder

½ t. salt, divided

½ C. water plus ¼ C. boiling water

 Heat over to 400 degrees.  Place rhubarb in an 8×8 baking dish and sprinkle with baking soda.  Set aside.

 Combine the 1 C. of flour, ¼ C. of the sugar, the 1 T. of butter, the 2 t. baking powder and ¼ t. of the salt in a medium bowl.  Stir in the ½ C. of not-boiling water until the mixture is crumbly.  Set aside.

 Combine the remaining ½ C. sugar, 1/4 t. salt  and1 t. butter in a small bowl.  Mix until crumbly and set aside.

 Pour the ¼ C. of  boiling water over rhubarb.  Top evenly with flour mixture* and then sprinkle with the sugar/butter mixture.

 Bake until bubbly and beginning to brown, 35-45 minutes.

 * Sandra’s Note:  The flour mixture doesn’t expand or spread at all, so put it on just how you want it to look.  I put it on in “glops” which wasn’t as attractive as I would have liked when it was finished.  Next time I do it, I will spread the topping a little more evenly.

We really liked this cobbler.  I hope you do too!

By the way, when we were at the Amish farm buying a couple of tomato plants recently, I saw rhubarb plants for sale. 

P1010772   So, we bought one and Hubby planted it under a sunroom window so that we can easily see it and remember to water it. 

P1010771    Hopefully in a few years, we’ll have a patch of our own rhubarb again!

7 Responses to Got Rhubarb?

  1. Sam says:

    No fair — my mouth is watering!

  2. Sandra says:

    So, are you a rhubarb lover, Sam? I guess I think of it as a “midwestern” plant so am a little surprised if you have it there in Arizona!

  3. Hilary says:

    Rhubarb is plentiful around here, but I never learned to like it. Having said that, I realize that I’ve not tried it again since sometime in my 30s. I’m overdue for giving it a fair shot.. after I drop a bit of recently regained poundage. Yep, perhaps next spring. 😉 I have to admit, that recipe does sound yummy.

  4. Beth says:

    Yum! And I’m impressed you’re growing your own. Honestly it wouldn’t even occur to me to grow my own rhubarb, or any other veggie. 🙂

  5. Beth says:

    (Is rhubarb a veggie?)

  6. Sandra says:

    Oh, Hilary. I know exactly what you mean. I have to really stretch out the time between dessert-making. I can gain just LOOKING at a wonderful dessert! 🙂

    Beth — I love it that you’re impressed! We haven’t grown anything edible since we moved here, so we’ll see if this rhubarb plant lives. we tried a tomato plant in a pot last year, and it didn’t make it. This year we “cheated” and bought two big tommato plants nad put them in the ground in a flower bed. Hopefully they’ll make it, because we LOVE fresh tomatoes.

    Hmmm. Is rhubarb a veggie? Well, since it’s look reminds me of celery, I would guess maybe it IS a veggie — just a veggie that is always prepared with SUGAR! 🙂

    Do you have rhubarb there, Beth?

  7. Beth says:

    I don’t know if it’s grown anywhere near here. I don’t see it in baking very often at all and have only eaten it a handful of times in my life.

Leave a Reply

