Peaceful, Rural Indiana

 

One of my sisters lives a couple hours south of us, so I sometimes make a day trip down there.  She and her husband live out in the country so part of the trip is on rural roads that are very peaceful.

p10102541   I love a drive down an infrequently traveled country road.

p10102581    What a handsome barn this must have been when it was new.

p10102611   When I look at an old structure like this, whether a barn or a house, I like to think about what it looked like when it was new, and what kind of stories it could tell …  not only about the events that have taken place in it, but the family that built it, and the pride they must have taken in their new barn. 

 p10102591  The long lane back to Sis’ house.

After lunch, Sis and I sat at her kitchen table and played Triple Yahtzee, Mama’s favorite game that she got us all hooked on, from years of playing it with her! 

 p10102631      But it is always a little hard for me to concentrate on the game when we sit there because of the great view from the bay windows next to the table.  And, I had taken my camera out of my purse and layed it on the table next to me this time, so the idea of “photo ops” made the view even more distracting than usual.   (Hmmm. Do you think Sis seats me looking out the windows to make me a worse Yahtzee players?  Really not necessary!)

 p10102641     My BIL puts corn at the base of that tree most mornings.  So, the squirrels and deer are frequent visitors.

p10102681   On this particular day, no deer showed up, but this very healthy looking little squirrel and several of his friends stopped by for a bite.

p101027611   I love the view down the creek.  What a wonderful window to look out of while you’re eating your morning cereal!  I’ll have to take more pictures when things have greened up.

p10102722    I think these are pigeons.

  p10102742     Look how perfectly they blend in with the surroundings.  Hmmm. It occurs to me that they are the same color as concrete buildings too.  Maybe that’s the reason they like to perch on them!  

p10102771   This is when I lonnnng for a camera with a really powerful lens, because I would have loved to have gotten a close-up of this redheaded woodpecker.  I love his black and white with a touch of red coloring.  But he was fun to watch anyway … very busy.  I picture him thinking, “So many trees … so little time!”

A beautiful day in the country.  And Sis let me win at Triple Yahtzee too!

5 Responses to Peaceful, Rural Indiana

  1. Karen says:

    Very cool photos, Sandra !!!

    I like the ones of the squirrel and the birds.

    I’m just about to wander up to a field about a mile or so from us and try to get some photos of some marmots that live there. I’ve been having fun watching them..

  2. Sandra says:

    Thank you, Karen. I’m certainly still a beginner, but I DO enjoy photography! Hope you get some wonderful shots of marmots, whatever they are! 🙂

  3. Hilary says:

    Great photos. It looks like you had a wonderful time, and captured much of it on film. Downy woodpeckers are always such a treat, aren’t they?

  4. Sleepless in OL says:

    I really enjoyed these pictures as they reminded me of my own childhood memories of going to my grandparent’s house in Indiana. The country road you have shown us is so like the many that I remember traveling on with my Grandfather as we went to town or he just took me out for a ride to see the countryside. Thank you for these wonderful pictures and the memories I recalled from each.

  5. Sandra says:

    Thank YOU, Sleepless for telling you that my pictures touched you. A country road or scene can be so timeless.

Leave a Reply

